Amanda Jane Jones, designer

Today, we’re lucky to start again our ‘Mum at Work’ interviews with the talented Amanda Jane Jones who was at the origin of Kinfolk magazine. This 30 years-old woman is the mum of two kids : little Jane, 3 years-old, and baby Miles, 9 months. She’s married to Cree, a PhD student at the Unversity of Chicago.

She tells us here about her professional career and her family life. A slow way of conceiving work and motherhood…

***

What was your job before taking part in the launching of Kinfolk and now Define magazine?

I worked as a graphic designer and freelance designer (which I still currently do).

How did it come to your mind to create Kinfolk design and now, Define? What inspired you?

For Kinfolk, I was inspired by simplicity and book design. We wanted something that felt very very different than other magazines on the market. For Define – I also strived for simplicity as I wanted the artwork to be the star of the magazine.

Define magazine Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones
Define magazine
Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones
Define magazine Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones
Define magazine
Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Can you describe your everyday job?

I always say that I’m a full-time mom and a part-time designer. The kids and my husband always come first. Since my husband is in school, I work part-time and he works part-time. We feel very lucky that we get to be with our children so much. When I’m working he is with them and when he’s working, I’m with them….it’s fantastic! I never feel like I’m missing out on anything.

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones
Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

What do I like about my job?

So much. I love what I do. I love design and the problem solving aspect of it. I love to make things beautiful and I especially love the flexibility it provides. If I had a design desk job,  I wouldn’t be able to travel with my family like I do or be with them as much.

What’s harder in my job?

It’s hard since I do work from home, work is always kind of there. I’ve had a lot of practice though trying to ignore it until it’s my work time. My husband is excellent and leaving work at work – I’m still working on it.

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones
Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones
Amanda Jane Jones' interior
Amanda Jane Jones’ interior

What is your daily organization with the kids?

Miles usually wakes up first, so we bring him in our bed to nurse and for some cuddles. Then Jane usually follows. We all snuggle and talk about our day. Breakfast, get dressed, do hair, etc. Miles still takes a morning nap – so he’s down at 8:30 and then it’s just Jane and Mom time. When Miles wakes up, we head out for either errands or an adventure. Jane loves to swim and go to the zoo on our adventure days. Both kids nap (if Jane doesn’t nap, she has quite time because mom needs it!) I used to work during nap time, but I’m just too tired now with a toddler and a Miles still waking in the night to nurse. After nap, we work on dinner, watch for daddy out the window and then, start our bedtime routine. Pretty simple!

Do you have a nanny?

No – we tried to have a nanny for a month one time when Jane was little. It was awful – we probably didn’t have the right nanny to start with, but the whole experience has kept me wary of trying again. I don’t plan to – especially where Cree has such a flexible schedule.

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones
Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones
Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones
Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Are you happy with this organization?

Yup! what would you change? yes! nothing right now but Miles’ schedule changes all the time, so I’m sure it will be something new in the not so distant future.

How do you manage to reconcile work and family life?

I think it’s an ongoing learning curve. Right now I feel like I”m in a good spot though. Once Cree graduates and we can’t share the work load, I’m sure we’ll have to rethink how we do things.

Do you have tips to soften your day as a busy mom?

With Jane, I was always trying to fit too much into our day – to do too many  things.when miles joined the family , I was determined to slow down, to cuddle more and tonot expect so much. If jane asks for me to read her a book or hold her, I try to stop and accommodate as best I can.

Could you tell me one thing you love doing with the kids?

I love our morning cuddles – it’s my favorite way to start the day. I love playing games with them and taking them to the pool. We also always read stories before nap and bed and that’s one of my favorite times as well. I’m so glad both of my kids LOVE books. it’s such a sweet time just to hold them and bond.

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones
Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

What are your professional projects for the future?

I let my blog renewal lapse right when I had miles and someone bought the domain! I was so frustrated but what can you do? I’m going to redesign my website (which is way overdue!) and relaunch my blog in the coming year.

1 Comment

  • Article très intéressant et enrichissant. Je découvre l’univers de la décoration d’intérieur et votre blog que j’aime beaucoup car les articles sont clairs et ils permettent de comprendre parfaitement les différentes tendances déco. Merci pour toutes ces belles inspirations déco ! Belle journée !

    http://blog.la-pigiste.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Amanda Jane Jones, designer

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones
Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Pour débuter nos interviews Mum at Work de la Rentrée, Sweet Cabane a la chance d’interviewer une jeune maman talentueuse venue de Chicago : Amanda Jane Jones. Amanda, qui travaille comme designeuse en free lance, a été une des instigatrices du magazine Kinfolk et, maintenant de Define, un magazine dédié à l’art contemporain. Cette jeune trentenaire est aussi la maman de deux enfants, Jane, 3 ans et Miles, 9 mois. Son mari, Cree, fait un phD en économie à l’Université de Chicago.

***

Comment as-tu eu l’idée de créer le design de Kinfolk puis de Define?

J’ai toujours aimé la simplicité, c’est ce qui m’a inspiré pour ces deux projets. Pour Kinfolk, je vouais me rapprocher du design des livres, pour Define, l’idée est de laisser l’oeuvre dont on parle au centre du magazine.

Define magazine Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Define magazine
Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Define magazine Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Define magazine
Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Pourrais-tu décrire ton job au quotidien?

J’aime dire habituellement que je suis maman à plein temps, et designer à mi-temps. Mes enfants et mon mari sont ma priorité. Comme mon mari est encore étudiant, on travaille en fait tous les deux à mi-temps, ce qui permet à chacun d’entre nous de bien profiter des enfants. Quand je travaille, Cree s’occupe d’eux, quand c’est lui qui travaille, c’est moi qui les prend en charge. C’est super comme cela! On n’a jamais l’impression de manquer un moment avec eux!

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Qu’aimes-tu dans ton travail?

Plein de choses en fait! J’aime le design et le graphisme dans toutes leurs dimensions. J’aime rendre les choses belles. J’aime aussi la flexibilité que procure ce métier : mon bureau est à la maison, ce qui me permet de voyager avec ma famille et d’être tout le temps avec eux.

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Amanda Jane Jones' interior

Amanda Jane Jones’ interior

Y-a-t-il certains moments plus difficiles dans ton travail?

Travailler chez soi n’est pas toujours facile car il est très dur d’établir une frontière claire entre  le travail et le reste. J’essaie de compartimenter mais je dois encore progresser! Mon mari, au contraire, y arrive très bien!

Comment vous organisez-vous au quotidien avec les enfants?

Miles se réveille en premier, on le prend alors dans notre lit et on le câline. Ensuite, Jane se réveille et on petit dej, on s’habille, on se peigne,etc. Miles fait alors à nouveau une sieste vers 8h30 et je partage un moment seule avec Jane. Quand Miles se réveille et que Cree travaille, on part ensemble se promener ou faire des activités. Jane adore aller au zoo et nager. L’après-midi, les deux enfants font la sieste et j’en profite aussi pour me reposer car j’en ai besoin : Miles ne fait pas encore ses nuits… On prépare ensuite le diner. Très simple en fait! Et quand c’est moi qui travaille, c’est Cree qui s’occupe des enfants.

Est-ce que vous avez une nounou?

Non pas actuellement. On en a eu une un petit moment quand Jane était bébé. Ca s’est très mal passé et, depuis, je n’en ai jamais repris car je redoute de revivre une mauvaise expérience.  Tant que Cree a un emploi du temps flexible, ce n’est pas au programme.

Pour l’instant cette organisation est parfaite pour nous, mais elle va sans doute changer avec les enfants qui grandissent …

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Crédit photo :  Amanda Jane Jones

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Comment fais-tu pour concilier travail et vie de famille?

Je pense que l’on apprend sans cesse. En ce moment, tout se passe très bien. Mais quand Cree sera diplômé de son PhD et qu’on ne pourra plus se repartir aussi bien les tâches de la maison, il faudra sans doute trouver une nouvelle organisation.

Est-ce que tu as des astuces pour te faciliter la vie?

Quand on n’avait que Jane, j’essayais toujours de faire plein de choses dans une journée, trop je pense. Quand on a eu Miles, j’ai décidé de ralentir, de rester près d’eux sans avoir de planning trop figé. Si Jane me demande de lui lire un livre ou de lui faire simplement un câlin, je m’arrête de travailler un moment pour m’en occuper dans la mesure du possible.

Quelle est ton activité préférée avec les enfants?

J’aime les câlins du matin, la meilleure façon de bien commencer la journée. J’aime faire des jeux avec eux et les emmener à la piscine. J’aime aussi leur raconter des histoires avant de s’endormir. Je suis ravie que mes enfants aiment les livres! C’est tellement agréable de lire ensemble!

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Crédit photo : Amanda Jane Jones

Quels sont tes projets professionnels à venir?

J’ai oublié de renouveler le nom de domaine de mon blog quand j’ai eu Miles et quelqu’un l’a acheté. Je suis dégoutée, mais que faire? Alors je suis en train de m’en refaire un autre que je souhaite lancer dans l’année qui vient…

***

Un grand merci à Amanda qui nous invite à démarrer la Rentrée en prenant le temps d’établir des priorités et de se concentrer sur l’essentiel. Ralentir pour mieux profiter finalement…

Jeudi, on parlera de la 6ème avec quelques conseils pour aider les enfants à bien s’organiser et à ne pas stresser pour cette grande aventure qu’est le collège. Pour cela, on a bien brainstormé avec Anna, qui va rentrer en 5ème cette année 😉

Bonne rentrée à tous,

Emilie.

1 Comment

  • marie dit :

    Article très intéressant et enrichissant. Je découvre l’univers de la décoration d’intérieur et votre blog que j’aime beaucoup car les articles sont clairs et ils permettent de comprendre parfaitement les différentes tendances déco. Merci pour toutes ces belles inspirations déco ! Belle journée !

    http://blog.la-pigiste.com/

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *