California by Cécile

This summer, our eldest daughter had the privilege to choose the destination of our family holiday trip as a kind of gift for her 18 years-old birthday. She said, “California.” Then, my husband took the tickets and I found myself with a big long 15 days’ trip to organise. In my mind, California was synonymous with palm trees, waves, surfers, breathtaking views … After  a month at the beach in France, I was a little afraid that this could be a bit repetitive ……

An afternoon at Montmartre Museum

This charming small museum, located just a step from the Sacré Coeur, on Montmartre hill, really deserves a family visit. As soon as you enter the soft grey door on 12 rue Cortot, you are taken back to another era. You are still in Paris, of course but in an idealized version of the city, where carriage entrances open on charming gardens with a rose bush alley that lead to a 17th century old mansion… This places takes you back to the…

Winter tale in Versailles

For all Parisian people, Versailles means sunny picnics and long walks or rides along the Grand Canal or in Marie-Antoinette estate. Versailles is such a huge estate, it never feels crowded and it is such a easy, bucolic and close escape (30 minutes drive or RER) from the center of Paris. On sunny and warm days, Versailles is always a good idea. But what about Winter? These Winter week-ends which we all imagine lying in bed or reading in a…

Caramelized quinces

Such as lemons, quinces brighten Winter with their beautiful yellow. These hardy, slightly downy fruits are very decorative and scented. I always keep some in my kitchen … I propose you here an easy and delicious recipe with quinces, perfect for wintertime  … Such a comforting dessert! Preparation time: 15 minutes / Cooking time: 30-35 minutes. *** Ingredients (4 people): 1kg quinces (2-3 quinces) 50g unsalted butter 50g caster sugar One good knife Preparation Quinces flesh is very firm, please get yourself a good knife. Cut…

La Californie de Cécile

Cet été, c’est notre aînée de bientôt 18 ans qui a choisi la destination de notre voyage en famille, justement parce qu’elle allait avoir 18 ans.  Elle m’a dit : «la Californie ». Mon mari a pris les billets d’avion et je me retrouvais avec une grande page blanche, longue de 15 jours, à écrire. Dans mon esprit, la Californie c’était des palmiers, des vagues, des surfeurs, des paysages à couper le souffle… Après un mois à la plage en France,…

Un après-midi au Musée de Montmartre

Ce charmant petit musée, situé à deux pas du Sacré Coeur, sur la butte de Montmartre, mérite vraiment (plus d’) une visite en famille. Dès que l’on pousse la porte gris bleu du 12 de la rue Cortot, on est transporté dans un autre univers. C’est comme si l’on franchissait une porte spatio-temporelle. Nous sommes toujours à Paris, oui, mais dans un Paris idéalisé où les portes cochères ouvrent sur de charmants jardins. Des jardins menant à une ravissante et…

Versailles en hiver

Pour les Parisiens ou les Franciliens, Versailles est synonyme de pique-niques ensoleillés et de longues promenades à pied ou à vélo le long du Grand Canal ou dans le domaine de Marie-Antoinette.  Un immense domaine pour une évasion facile et bucolique à quelques 30 minutes du centre de Paris. Aux beaux jours Versailles est toujours une bonne idée. Mais en hiver? En hiver alors que l’on resterait volontiers sous sa couette ou au coin du feu, pourquoi résister à la…

Coings caramélisés

Comme les citrons, les coings égayent l’hiver de leur beau jaune. Ces fruits rustiques, légèrement duveteux, sont très décoratifs et parfumés et j’en garde toujours dans ma cuisine… Je vous propose ici une recette très simple à base de coings qu’on aime réaliser quand vient l’hiver…C’est très facile et le résultat délicieux. Un vrai dessert réconfortant! Préparation : 15 minutes /  Cuisson : 30-35 minutes. ***   Ingrédients (pour 4 personnes): 1kg de coings (2-3 coings) 50g de beurre doux 50g…