Barcelona in the Off-Season

I love visiting the Mediterranean countries off-season, especially during Autumn and Winter, when the light is still bright and energizing, while in Paris the sky is low and grey. At the beginning of November, we spent five days in Barcelona where we enjoyed a very mild weather and a beautiful light that reminded us of late summer.

The idea was not only to enjoy the city, but also to relax and adopt a slow way of living to then come back to Paris with a lot of energy. We therefore opted for wanderings, parks  and healthy coffee shops rather than traditional tapas bars. These are the addresses that I would like to share with you here.

Note that Barcelona is very family friendly. Parents and grandparents frequently go out with them at night. So don’t hesitate to go out with them, it won’t bother anyone!

***

OU HOTEL

We stayed at the Hotel Brummell, right next to the Montjuic Park. We really loved this place and I highly recommend it as a family : people are very welcoming and friendly with the children, the rooms and apartments are comfortable, perfectly thought for family life. For 5, we chose an apartment with kitchen and living room. Perfect to rest after long walks!

Concerning food, everything is scrumptious, local and seasonal.

Hotel Brummell - Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Hotel Brummell – Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

barcelone26
barcelone24

**

OUR FAVOURITE PLACES

Gracia area: like a small  ‘village’ not very far from the Sagrada Familia. Lovely places, arty shops, and lots of little cafes. The place is very nice to stroll, have a drink in a very typical atmosphere.

The park of Montjuic: The place is full of gems … Not to be missed in particular: its numerous gardens and the Miró foundation that will please both parents and children. And above all, taking the funicular to rapidly reach Poble Sec area  or, better yet, the Barceloneta beach , is a funny experience with children ! A true relaxing place in the heart of Barcelona with stunning views on the city and on the harbor.

Montijuic - Sweet Cabane
Montijuic – Sweet Cabane

Parque de la Ciutadella and The Born area: a beautiful park, with a zoo, a lake and many attractions for children. A haven of peace just near the Old Town. The streets around the Born are very lively with excellent restaurants and cafes. A more authentic and less touristic area than the Gothic Quarter…

Parque de la Ciutadella - Sweet Cabane
Parque de la Ciutadella – Sweet Cabane
Parque de la Ciutadella - Sweet Cabane
Parque de la Ciutadella – Sweet Cabane

The Barceloneta beache :  perfect with children to relax by the sea. A lively beach with many open-air cafés. Even in November, it’s very crowdy!

La Barceloneta - Sweet Cabane
La Barceloneta – Sweet Cabane

barcelone12

 

The Raval district where you can visit the Museum of Contemporary Art, whose permanent collection is very interesting. It’s also very pleasant to get lost through the lovely streets around the museum…

barcelone9

Musée d'art Contemporain - Sweet Cabane
Musée d’art Contemporain – Sweet Cabane

**

OUR FAVORITE COFFEE SHOPS

During this stay, we preferred coffee shops that offered a healthy and seasonal menu to tapas bars and traditional restaurants. In the evening, we cooked at the apartment or at the hotel restaurant.

Café Cometa in Poble Sec : seasonal dishes, excellent bugers and salads, fresh juices … and scrumptious cupcakes!

Cafe Cometa - Sweet Cabane
Cafe Cometa – Sweet Cabane

Satan’s Coffee Corner: Excellent coffee, great cakes and small dishes to enjoy on the go. Relaxed atmosphere.

Satan's Coffee Corner and its best muesli ever! - Sweet Cabane
Satan’s Coffee Corner and its best muesli ever! – Sweet Cabane

Granja petitbo: a cosy place with good seasonal dishes and fresh juices. Our favorite place. It can make a very nice stop on the way to the Sagrada Familia.

Granja petitbo - Sweet Cabane
Granja petitbo – Sweet Cabane

La Nena: in the heart of Gracia, this café offers good homemade dishes, pastries, churros and hot chocolates. The kids can play  while waiting to be served. The atmosphere is cosy and family friendly.

Flax and Kale: the best vegan address in Barcelona! A spacious and bright place with a superb terrace. The dishes are gourmet and tasty. A delight … But I should confess that the children would have preferred a ‘real’ burger ‘to the vegan version proposed;) …

img_9757

***

I hope that you enjoyed this Barcelona tour !

Next Tuesday, we’ll meet an American family living in the heart of USA.

Have a lovely weekend,

Emilie. xx.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Barcelone hors saison

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

J’adore visiter le Sud hors saison, notamment en automne et en hiver, où la lumière reste éclatante et énergisante. Début novembre, nous avons passé cinq jours en famille à Barcelone où nous avons profité d’un temps très doux et de cette belle lumière qui faisait penser à une fin d’été.

L’idée était non seulement de profiter de la ville, mais aussi de se détendre et d’adopter un rythme cool pour ensuite aborder Novembre à Paris en ayant fait le plein d’énergie. On a donc privilégié les balades, les parcs et les restos healthy. Ce sont toutes ces adresses que j’aimerais partager ici avec vous.

A noter que Barcelone est très facile en famille car les enfants y sont les bienvenus. Parents et grands-parents sortent fréquemment avec eux jusqu’à tard le soir. Vous pouvez donc aller sans problème dans les nombreux bars et restos qu’offre la ville.

 

***

NOTRE HOTEL

Nous avons séjourne à L‘hôtel Brummell, juste à côté du parc de Montjuic. Nous avons adoré l’endroit et je vous le recommande chaudement en famille : l’accueil est très sympa et bienveillant avec les enfants, les chambres et les appartements sont agréables, parfaitement pensés pour la vie de famille. Pour 5, nous avions choisi un appartement avec cuisine et salon. Parfait pour se reposer après les longues balades de la journée!

Côté food, le petit déjeuner est excellent avec une carte riche et très bien pensée pour tous les goûts.  Il est possible de diner le soir : le menu est très bon, de saison et local.

Hotel Brummell - Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Hotel Brummell – Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Hotel Brummell - Sweet Cabane

Hotel Brummell – Sweet Cabane

barcelone24

**

NOS ENDROITS PREFERES

Le quartier de Gracia : un chouette quartier un peu ‘village’, pas très loin de la Sagrada Familia. Des placettes, des boutiques arty de fringues et de déco, et plein de petits cafés. L’endroit est très agréable pour flâner, prendre un verre dans une ambiance très barcelonaise.

Le parc de Montjuic : L’endroit fourmille de richesses… A ne pas manquer notamment : ses nombreux jardins et la fondation Miró qui plaira aux grands comme aux petits. Et surtout, emprunter le funiculaire pour rejoindre en un rien de temps Poble Sec ou, encore mieux, la Barceloneta, est une expérience amusante avec les enfants! Un vrai endroit de détente au coeur de Barcelone et de superbes vues sur la ville et le port.

Montijuic - Sweet Cabane

Montijuic – Sweet Cabane

Parque de la Ciutadella et le le quartier du Born : un joli parc, avec un zoo, un plan d’eau et de nombreuses attractions pour les enfants. Un havre de paix à deux pas de la Vieille ville. Les rues alentours du Born sont très vivantes avec de très bons restaurants et cafés. Une côté plus authentique et moins touristique que le quartier gothique, me semble-t-il…

Parque de la Ciutadella - Sweet Cabane

Parque de la Ciutadella – Sweet Cabane

Parque de la Ciutadella - Sweet Cabane

Parque de la Ciutadella – Sweet Cabane

Les plages de la Barceloneta : l’incontournable avec des enfants pour se détendre au bord de la mer. Une plage vivante avec de nombreuses guinguettes et animations. Même en Novembre, elle était très animée!

La Barceloneta - Sweet Cabane

La Barceloneta – Sweet Cabane

La Barceloneta - Sweet Cabane

La Barceloneta – Sweet Cabane

Le quartier du Raval : le Musée d’Art Contemporain, dont l’exposition permanente vaut le détour, et il est très plaisant de se perdre dans toutes les jolies ruelles autour, parsemées de très belles boutiques!

barcelone9

Musée d'art Contemporain - Sweet Cabane

Musée d’art Contemporain – Sweet Cabane

**

NOS CAFES FAVORIS

Lors de ce séjour, on a privilégié les cafés qui proposaient une carte plutôt healthy et de saison, avec des plats à manger sur le pouce en cours de balade. Le soir, nous cuisinions à l’appartement ou nous laissions tenter par le délicieux menu de l’hôtel.

Café Cometa dans Poble Sec : des plats de saison, d’excellents bugers, salades, jus frais pressés… et cupcakes! Un succès en famille!!

Cafe Cometa - Sweet Cabane

Cafe Cometa – Sweet Cabane

Satan’s Coffee Corner : un excellent café et de très bons cakes et petits plats à déguster sur le pouce. Ambiance décontractée.

Satan's Coffee Corner and its best muesli ever! - Sweet Cabane

Satan’s Coffee Corner and its best muesli ever! – Sweet Cabane

Granja petitbo : super déco, bons petits plats de saison et jus frais! Notre endroit préféré, qui peut constituer une halte très sympa sur le chemin de la Sagrada Familia.

Granja petitbo - Sweet Cabane

Granja petitbo – Sweet Cabane

La Nena: au coeur de Gracia, ce café propose de bons plats, pâtisseries, churros et chocolats chauds faits maison. Les enfants ont un coin jeux pour se détendre en attendant d’être servis. L’ambiance est simple et familiale, et vous pourrez y croiser des Barcelonais de toutes les générations.

Flax and Kale : l’adresse vegan de Barcelone! Un endroit spacieux et lumineux avec une superbe terrasse. Les plats sont gourmands et savoureux. Un délice… Mais l’adresse n’a pas été très appréciée des enfants qui auraient préféré un ‘vrai’ burger’ à la version vegan proposée ;)…

img_9757

 

barcelone21

***

J’espère que ce petit tour très partial (et partiel) de Barcelone vous aura plu.

Pour s’y rendre depuis Paris, des prix tout à fait abordables par avion avec Easyjet ou Vueling… Surtout hors saison!

A lundi pour une interview famille qui nous conduira au coeur de Etats-Unis.

Très bon week-end,

Emilie.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *