Caroline de Benoist, jewel designer

This week, we are happy to meet Caroline de Benoist, mother of 3 children and former jurist, who has just launched her eponymous jewelry brand. I have known Caroline for a few years and I’m totally in love with her delicate, refined and colorful creations …. just like her. This change of activity, her creative impulse and the beauty of her jewels made me want to know more about this project and share with you this beautiful portrait of a ‘working…

Daniela & Stefan, Germany

Today, we’re going to Germany, to meet a family living in Kassel, in the Northern part of the country. Daniela, 43, and her husband, 46, have three kids : two girls, 11 and 7 years old, and a big  23 years-old son who lives now in Berlin. They also have a cat, called Polly, who’s part of the family. Daniela is a teacher in a primary school in Kassel and her husband is an educator.  They’ve been living in a rustic old half-timbered house for 16 years now,…

Chrystèle, French designer

This Monday, Chrystèle, French designer of the lovely lifestyle brand La Girafe, is inviting us to her home to talk about her work, her projects and her family organization. This 43 years-old woman, mother of two teenage girls, lives with her husband in the Beaujolais, in the middle of the vines (near Lyon). A choice of life away from the city, but that remains hyper connected, with many trips to Paris. *** Can you describe your everyday work ? I have several…

Renata & Marcos, Chicago

This week, we’re going to meet a  sweet Brazilian family living in a small village near Chicago, Winnetka. Renata, 35 is stylist and photograph, and Marcos, 39, works for a credit card company. They have three girls : Carolina, 8, Manuela ,6, and Gabriela, 4. Before coming to Chicago two years and a half ago, they moved a lot and lived abroad for 12 years, experiencing life in big cities such as Madrid, London and Miami.  Renata tells us about their family…

Lisi and Alex, Barcelona

On this very freezy Monday, let’s go to sunny Barcelona to meet Lisi, Alex and their two kids. Lisi combines her work as an art director at her ad agency, and her work as a photographer. Alex is an entrepreneur. They’ve got two sons : Simón who is 7 years old and is an acrobatic athlète, and León who is 4 and loves dancing. They’ve been living in Barcelona for 15 years, now in the first floor of a modernist house in the centre of…

Delphine, student in family mediation

For our new ‘Mum at Work’ interview, we’re meeting a student mum. Delphine, 45, resumes her studies to become a family mediator, after working as a lawyer and taking care of her children. She is married and is a mother of 3, two girls and a boy, aged 17, 15 and 12 years. She lives in Paris. She tells us about her life choices, her studies and her family life. *** What was your activity before studying family mediation? Initially, I studied Law and worked as a lawyer in…

Anne Claire & Nicolas, Lyon

This Monday, we’re meeting the charming Anne-Claire, her husband Nicolas and their three children: Anton, 5 years old, Scarlett, 3 years, and Albertine, just 6 months. They live in a nice village near Lyon, in a house from the 1900’s that they renovated 4 years ago. Anne-Claire has just founded her linen brand, Maison Margaret, which will be on the market in the early 2017. Nicolas is a commercial manager. Anne-Claire is talking here about their family life in the Lyon…

Blandine Pommier, Luciole&Cie designer

Sweet Cabane’s slowly returning  from Autumn holiday  with a ‘Family Connection’ interview which talks about motherhood. Blandine Pommier, mother of three ex-resercher and creator of the French nursery brand Luciole et Cie, not only talks about the genesis of her products specially designed for children, but also gives plenty of advice to young mothers. *** How and when did you get the idea to create Luciole et Cie? After stopping scientific research, I wanted to create something without knowing very well what. I’ve…

Fed up with labels!

On the home, Daphne wears a Lililotte Nantes dress.  A friend recently told me: “When my son was born, I was a bit disoriented because he did not sleep much. “Ah, well is that it’s because your baby is hyperactive” told me one of the maternity childcare assistants. How many times have I later thought about that sentence? Whenever I ran after him to the park? Whenever, at a party, I found that all the children, except my son, remained still ? When my daughter was…

Catarina and Russ, London

Today, we’re going to London downtown to meet Cat, her husband Russ and their three daughters, Evie 12, Lulu 9 and Claudia, 6 years. All together they live in Little Venice, not far from Regent’s Park. Both are originally from New Zealand. Russ, 51, is an architect, and Cat, 42, is the founder of the lovely kids’ brand, Smalls.They moved to London 18 years ago. They now live in a 3 bedroom 1950’s mews house. *** IN THE CITY What do…

Caroline de Benoist, créatrice de bijoux

Cette semaine, nous avons la chance de rencontrer Caroline de Benoist, maman de 3 enfants et ancienne juriste, qui vient tout juste de lancer sa marque de joaillerie éponyme. Je connais Caroline depuis déjà quelques années et je suis tombée sous le charme de ses créations délicates, raffinées et colorées…. à son image. Ce changement d’activité, cet élan créatif et la beauté de ses réalisations m’ont donné envie d’en savoir plus et de partager avec vous ce beau portrait de ‘mumpreneuse’. Caroline nous parle ici…

Daniela & Stefan, Allemagne

Aujourd’hui, nous partons dans le nord de l’Allemagne, à Kassel, à la rencontre de Daniela, 43 ans, de Stefan, 46 ans,  et de leurs trois enfants : 2 filles de 11 et 7 ans, et un garçon de déjà 23 ans, parti vivre à Berlin. N’oublions pas Polly, le chat, qui fait partie intégrante de la famille! Daniela est professeur des écoles et Stéfan est éducateur. Ils habitent depuis 16 ans dans une maison ancienne, de style rustique, dans un quartier à…

Chrystèle, créatrice de La Girafe

Ce lundi, Chrystèle, la créatrice de la marque lifestyle La Girafe, nous invite chez elle pour nous parler de son travail, de ses projets et de son organisation familiale. Cette jeune femme de 43 ans, mère de deux adolescentes, vit avec son mari dans le Beaujolais, au milieu des vignes. Un choix de vie loin de la ville, mais qui reste hyper-connecté, avec de nombreux voyages à Paris notamment. ***   Peux-tu me décrire ton travail aujourd’hui? J’ai plusieurs casquettes! Je…

Renata & Marcos, Chicago

Cette semaine, nous partons à la rencontre d’une famille brésilienne qui vit dans un petit village, près de Chicago, Winnetka. Renata, 35 ans, est photographe, et son mari Marcos, 39 ans, travaille dans une entreprise de cartes de crédit. Ils ont trois filles : Carolina, 8 ans, Manuela 6 ans et Gabriela, 4 ans. Avant de venir s’installer à Chicago, ils ont beaucoup voyagé et ont vécu dans de grandes villes comme Madrid, Londres et Miami.  Renata nous parle ici de sa vie de…

Lisi & Alex, Barcelone

Par ce froid glacial, on part se réchauffer à Barcelone à la rencontre de Lisi  et d’Alex. Lisi travaille à la fois comme directrice artistique pour son agence de publicité et comme photographe. Alex est entrepreneur. Ensemble, ils ont deux enfants : Simon, 7 ans, et Léon, 4.   Cela fait 15 ans qu’ils vivent à Barcelone, au premier étage d’une maison moderniste du centre-ville.  *** IN THE CITY Qu’est-ce que vous aimez particulièrement à Barcelone?  C’est une grande ville, mais à taille humaine…

Delphine, étudiante en médiation familiale

Pour notre nouveau rendez-vous Mum at Work, nous partons  à la rencontre d’une étudiante. Delphine, après avoir exercé comme avocate et s’être occupée de ses enfants, reprend, à 45 ans, des études pour devenir médiatrice familiale. Cette mum de trois enfants (deux filles et un garçon, de 17, 15 et 12 ans) est mariée et vit à Paris. Elle nous parle ici de ses choix de vie, de ses études et de sa nouvelle organisation familiale. *** Que faisais-tu avant de commencer ces études…

Anne-Claire & Nicolas, Lyon

Ce lundi, on part à la rencontre de la charmante Anne-Claire, de son mari Nicolas et de leurs trois ravissants enfants : Anton, 5 ans, Scarlett, 3 ans et Albertine, tout juste 6 mois. Ils habitent dans un chouette village, tout près de Lyon, dans une maison 1900 qu’ils ont rénovée il y a 4 ans. Anne- Claire vient de fonder sa marque de linge de maison, Maison Margaret, qui sera sur le marché début 2017. Nicolas est directeur commercial….

Blandine Pommier, créatrice de Luciole et Cie

Sweet Cabane fait doucement son retour des vacances de la Toussaint avec une interview ‘Family Connexion ‘ qui parle de la maternité et de l’enfant avec douceur et simplicité. Blandine Pommier, maman de trois enfants, ex-chercheur scientifique et créatrice de la marque française pour enfants Luciole et Cie, nous parle de la genèse de sa marque et donne plein de bons conseils à destination des jeunes mamans.   *** Comment as-tu eu l’idée de créer Luciole et Cie? J’ai d’abord travaillé comme chercheur scientifique. Après avoir arrêté ce…

Marre des étiquettes!

Sur la home, Daphné porte une robe en coton bio de la nouvelle collection Lililotte Nantes.   Une amie m’a récemment confié : « Quand mon fils est né, j’étais un peu désemparée face à ce petit être qui ne dormait pas beaucoup. « Ah et bien c’est qu’il est hyperactif ce bébé » m’a dit un jour une des auxiliaires de puériculture de la maternité. Combien de fois ai-je, par la suite, pensé à cette phrase ? Toutes les fois où j’ai couru après lui…

Catriona & Russ, Londres

Aujourd’hui, on part dans le centre de Londres, dans le très joli coin de Little Venice où Cat, Russ et leurs trois filles (Evie, 12 ans, Lulu, 9 et Claudia, 6 ans) ont élu domicile. Cat, 42 ans, est la créatrice de la marque pour enfants qui monte outre-Manche, Smalls. Russ, 5 1 ans, est architecte. Ils sont venus ensemble de Nouvelle-Zélande il y a maintenant 18 ans. Ils vivent dans des mews des années 50 au coeur du quartier de Maida Vale.    *** IN THE CITY…