Berta, restaurant owner in Barcelona

Today, I’m very happy to meet a mother full of great energy and projects ! Berta, 42, is the mother of three kids (10, 8 and 5 years-old) and manages a successful restaurant in Barcelona, Parking Pizza, with her husband Marcos. After a career in the catering industry, she decided to change her work to try to reconcile it with family life, but without forgetting her passion for catering. Berta tells us here about her passion, her projects and her daily…

Audrey & Elliot, New Zealand

This Monday, we ‘re travelling to New Zealand to meet Audrey and her husband, Elliot. Both settled there 7 years ago. They now live in Hamilton (Northern New Zealand) where Elliot originally comes from. Audrey, 29, is a writer, designer and photographer. Elliot, 35, is a teacher of arboriculture. They have a three years-old boy, Charles.They live in a wooden house from 1910 that they renovated. Audrey tells us here about their everyday life in this very pleasant city of Hamilton. *** IN THE CITY What do you…

First days into high school

Last year, Anna, my eldest daughter, started high school. Big change : new school, new disciplines, ten teachers (vs one schoolteacher) and plenty of new faces! I tried to be as present as possible during the first months, until she gain more independence and be able to organize herself. To help, we set up several tricks and tips that I want to share now with you because they have been very effective!  PS : the translation from French to English was a bit difficult because of…

Amanda Jane Jones, designer

Today, we’re lucky to start again our ‘Mum at Work’ interviews with the talented Amanda Jane Jones who was at the origin of Kinfolk magazine. This 30 years-old woman is the mum of two kids : little Jane, 3 years-old, and baby Miles, 9 months. She’s married to Cree, a PhD student at the Unversity of Chicago. She tells us here about her professional career and her family life. A slow way of conceiving work and motherhood… *** What was…

Madeleine Ably, French designer

Today I am very happy to interview Madeleine Ably, the designer of the new fashion brand Sixsoeurs. This 38 years-old Parisian designer is also the mother of three children : a 18 years-old girl, a 7 year old boy and a 5 year-old girl. As you can imagine, her days are rather dense and varied … She tells us here the genesis of her project, what she enjoys in it and how she manages to reconcile daily work and family life ……

Birgitte & Vidar, Norway

Today, we go up to the Northern Europe to meet a Norwegian family living in Kongsberg, a tiny town in the south-eastern part of Norway, one hour’s drive from Oslo. I met Birgitte some time ago through Instagram where we started having a chat. Her gallery is both poetic and sensitive, mainly devoted to Nature. I love her way of seeing things… It’s the reason why I asked her to participate to Sweet Cabane. And I’m so pleased she said yes! Birgitte,…

Mama Blues

Pregnancy and motherhood were at the heart of my last ten years, since I had three children between 2005 and 2012. Eleven years ago, I became a mom for the first time. This was a real upheaval in my everyday  life of course (logistical issues;) …), but also in my ‘inner’ life since I had to learn how to become a mother. At that time, the model given by my own mother was very present, very rooted, as if the rules of…

Anna and Florian, Berlin

Today, we’re lucky to go and visit a large family living in Berlin, Germany. Anna and her husband Florian, both 36 years old, have been living there for 15 years with their three kids : Leo (9), Carlo (7) and Rosa (2). Anna isa fully educated lawyer working now in visual marketing and as a stylist for props, interior and kidswear. Florian is a neuro-radiologist.  Anna tells us about why they enjoy living in Berlin, what they like in this city and what…

Skye Mc Alpine, food blogger

Today, we’re so lucky to meet a wonderful creative mum who cooks, styles and takes wonderful photographs! Skye Mc Alpine, 32, lives between London and Venice. She’s got one son, Aeneas, who is now three and a half years old. She tells us here all about her work and her wonderful food blog From my dining table, which is now very famous. *** How did  you have the idea to create your food blog? I was studying for a PhD in Ancient…

Maiya & Domenic, Australia

Today, we go and meet Maiya, Domenic and their three beautiful chirdren. They live in Adelaide, South Australia. Maiya, 31, used to to work full-time before having children in Events and Marketing at Jacob’s Creek, a global wine brand of French company Pernod Ricard. Her husband, Domenic, 33, is Managing Director of Funding Options, a boutique finance broking firm which he co-founded in 2012. They have three little girls : Eva (4.5), Rose (2.5) and Clementine (11 months). The family of five lives…

Berta, restauratrice à Barcelone

Aujourd’hui, notre ‘mum at work’ est une femme passionnée, créative et pleine d’énergie. Berta, 42 ans et maman de trois enfants (10, 8 et 5 ans, dirige un restaurant à succès à Barcelone, avec son mari Marcos. Ensemble, ils ont lancé Parking Pizza , après des année passées dans la restauration. L’idée de ce nouveau projet était de mieux concilier travail et vie de famille tout en restant au coeur de sa passion, la restauration. C’est de tout cela dont nous parle Berta dans cette interview… *** Que faisais-tu…

Audrey & Elliot, Nouvelle-Zélande

Ce lundi, nous faisons un long voyage, à la rencontre d’Audrey et de son mari Elliot. Tous les deux sont venus s’installer en Nouvelle-Zélande il y a 7 ans, dans la ville d’Hamilton (au Nord de la Nouvelle-Zélande) dont Elliot est originaire. Audrey, 29 ans, est auteure, styliste et photographe. Elliot, 35 ans, est professeur d’arboriculture. Ils ont un petit garçon, Charles, âgé de 3 ans. Ensemble ils vivent dans une maison en bois de 1910 qu’ils ont entièrement rénovée. Audrey nous…

La sixième : so easy!

L’année dernière, Anna, mon aînée, est entrée au collège. Un vrai changement : nouvel établissement, nouvelles matières, une dizaine de profs (vs une maîtresse) et plein de nouvelles têtes! J’ai essayé d’être le plus présente possible les premiers mois, jusqu’à ce qu’elle gagne en autonomie et soit capable de s’organiser toute seule. Pour l’aider dans cette voie, on a mis en place plusieurs petits trucs et astuces que j’aimerais partager avec vous car ils ont été très efficaces! Voici nos petits…

Amanda Jane Jones, designer

Pour débuter nos interviews Mum at Work de la Rentrée, Sweet Cabane a la chance d’interviewer une jeune maman talentueuse venue de Chicago : Amanda Jane Jones. Amanda, qui travaille comme designeuse en free lance, a été une des instigatrices du magazine Kinfolk et, maintenant de Define, un magazine dédié à l’art contemporain. Cette jeune trentenaire est aussi la maman de deux enfants, Jane, 3 ans et Miles, 9 mois. Son mari, Cree, fait un phD en économie à l’Université de Chicago. *** Comment as-tu eu l’idée de…

Madeleine Ably, créatrice de Sixsoeurs

Aujourd’hui, je suis très heureuse d’interviewer Madeleine Ably, la créatrice de la marque de mode et accessoires Sixsoeurs, qui ne cesse de faire parler d’elle. Cette jeune créatrice parisienne de 38 ans est aussi la maman de trois enfants  : une grande fille de 18 ans, un garçon de 7 ans et une petite fille de 5 ans. Autant dire que les journées sont plutôt denses et variées… Elle nous raconte ici la genèse de son projet, ce qui lui…

Birgitte et Vidar, Norvège

Aujourd’hui, nous partons dans le Nord de l’Europe, à la rencontre d’une famille norvégienne qui vit à Kongsberg, une petite ville du Sud-Est de la Norvège, à seulement une heure de route d’Oslo. J’ai rencontré Birgitte il y a quelque temps sur Instagram et nous avons sympathisé. Sa galerie de photos est à la fois poétique et sensible, et témoigne d’un vrai amour de la Nature. C’est sans doute pour cette raison que je lui ai demandé si elle voulait bien partager son quotidien sur Sweet…

Maman blues

La grossesse et la maternité ont été des thématiques au coeur de mes dix dernières années, puisque j’ai eu trois enfants entre 2005 et 2012. Il y a onze et demie, je suis devenue maman pour la première fois. Cela a été un vrai bouleversement dans ma vie de tous les jours (les questions logistiques 😉 …) , mais aussi dans ma vie ‘intérieure’ puisqu’il a fallu apprendre à devenir maman. A ce moment-là, le modèle donné par ma propre mère était très…

Anna & Florian, Berlin

Aujourd’hui, nous avons la chance de partir à la rencontre d’une famille berlinoise. Anna et son mari Florian, tous les deux âgés de 36 ans, vivent à Berlin depuis 15 ans avec leurs trois enfants : Leo (9 ans), Carlo (7 ans) et Rosa (2 ans).  Anna a un diplôme d’avocate, mais travaille dans le marketing comme directrice artistique pour des marques de déco, de mode enfant et d’accessoires. Florian est neuroradiologue.  Anna nous parle ici de leur vie de famille à Berlin : les endroits où ils aiment se…

Skye Mc Alpine, blogueuse culinaire

Aujourd’hui, j’ai l’immense plaisir d’interviewer une mum au sommet de la créativité qui, non seulement cuisine à merveille, mais écrit et fait des photos absolument magnifiques. Skye Mc Alpine, 32 ans, vit entre Londres et Venise. Elle a un petit garçon de 3 ans et demi, Aenas.  Elle nous  raconte ici comment elle a eu l’idée de créér, il y a deux ans, son blog culinaire From my dining table, qui a maintenant une renommée internationale. *** Comment as-tu eu l’idée de créer From my dining…

Maiya et Domenic, Australie

Aujourd’hui, nous partons à la rencontre d’une  famille australienne : Maiya et Domenic habitent Adélaïde, dans le Sud du pays, tout au bord de la mer, dans une maison qu’ils ont fait construire en 2010. Ils sont les heureux parents de trois fillettes : Eva, 4 ans 1/2, Rose, 2 ans et demi, et Clementine, 11 mois. Maiya, 31 ans, travaillait dans l’événementiel et le marketing avant d’avoir ses enfants. Son mari, Domenic, 33 ans, a monté un cabinet spécialisé dans la finance en 2012. Maiya nous…