Une rubrique consacrée aux parents et aux enfants, pour mieux vivre ensemble au quotidien

Thinking like a toddler

I  just turned 40 a few months ago … This turn was not easy, I admit, and I often wonder about what it means to “grow old”: is it a  total process, or is it only physical? Are we losing creativity as we get older or is it possible to create throughout our lives? When I heard the words of Paul Lindley during the lecture series organized by the hotel Martinhal Cascais, I loved the idea that aging is first a…

Fed up with labels!

On the home, Daphne wears a Lililotte Nantes dress.  A friend recently told me: “When my son was born, I was a bit disoriented because he did not sleep much. “Ah, well is that it’s because your baby is hyperactive” told me one of the maternity childcare assistants. How many times have I later thought about that sentence? Whenever I ran after him to the park? Whenever, at a party, I found that all the children, except my son, remained still ? When my daughter was…

First days into high school

Last year, Anna, my eldest daughter, started high school. Big change : new school, new disciplines, ten teachers (vs one schoolteacher) and plenty of new faces! I tried to be as present as possible during the first months, until she gain more independence and be able to organize herself. To help, we set up several tricks and tips that I want to share now with you because they have been very effective!  PS : the translation from French to English was a bit difficult because of…

Do we always have to give the same to our children?

“I want the same,” , “You gave him more! “, ” Sure, it’s your favourite child “… Here is a selection of sentences you’ve probably heard from your children. As if counting the number of peas on each plate makes them sure that the “other” has not more peas…  Or as if requiring the new sweater as their brother permitted our little ones to test our love as parents. So what? Do we have to give exactly the same thing for each child so as they won’t…

Take it Easy with Cécile #2 : séparation with kids

Christmas holidays are almost here… 15 days during while your kids may have to be separated from you and to go to their grandpas’s : a joy of course, but also a source of anxiety for both of you… So here are some tips to help you separate from your kid in a soft way. *** Anticipate and talk about this separation : your child has to know why is going to go his grandpa’s. You can explain it with a few words that are meaningful, you’re…

Take it easy with Cécile #1 : how to survive homework?

Take it easy with Cécile #1 : how to survive homework? You’ve already met Cecile through our Family Connexion‘s section. We’re proud to say that she’s now part of our team as she will be in charge of a new section dedicated to family relationships : ‘take it easy’. In parallèle, Cecile writes in her blog for working parents,  La Turbulette. Today, our new collaborator, will talk about a crucial question : how to really help your kid to do…

Une rubrique consacrée aux parents et aux enfants, pour mieux vivre ensemble au quotidien

Et si on redevenait enfant?

Je viens d’avoir quarante ans il y a quelques mois… Le cap n’a pas été facile, je l’avoue, et je m’interroge souvent sur ce que signifie « vieillir » : s’agit-il d’un processus total, ou n’est-ce que physique? Perd-on sa créativité en vieillissant ou est-il possible de créer tout au long de sa vie? Quand j’ai entendu les propos de Paul Lindley lors du cycle de conférences organisé par l’hôtel Martinhal Cascais, je me suis tout à fait retrouvée dans cette idée…

Marre des étiquettes!

Sur la home, Daphné porte une robe en coton bio de la nouvelle collection Lililotte Nantes.   Une amie m’a récemment confié : « Quand mon fils est né, j’étais un peu désemparée face à ce petit être qui ne dormait pas beaucoup. « Ah et bien c’est qu’il est hyperactif ce bébé » m’a dit un jour une des auxiliaires de puériculture de la maternité. Combien de fois ai-je, par la suite, pensé à cette phrase ? Toutes les fois où j’ai couru après lui…

La sixième : so easy!

L’année dernière, Anna, mon aînée, est entrée au collège. Un vrai changement : nouvel établissement, nouvelles matières, une dizaine de profs (vs une maîtresse) et plein de nouvelles têtes! J’ai essayé d’être le plus présente possible les premiers mois, jusqu’à ce qu’elle gagne en autonomie et soit capable de s’organiser toute seule. Pour l’aider dans cette voie, on a mis en place plusieurs petits trucs et astuces que j’aimerais partager avec vous car ils ont été très efficaces! Voici nos petits…

Faut-il toujours tout partager?

« Je veux le même », « tu lui en as donné plus ! », « c’est sûr, c’est ton chouchou »… Voici un florilège de phrases que vous avez sûrement déjà pu entendre chez vos enfants. Comme si compter le nombre de petits pois dans l’assiette pour être sûr que « l’autre » n’en a pas eu plus, ou exiger d’avoir « moi aussi » un nouveau pull permettait à nos chères têtes blondes de s’assurer de l’amour porté par leurs parents. Alors que faire ? Donner exactement pareil à chacun de…

Take it Easy with Cécile #2 : la séparation

Take it Easy with Cécile #2 : la séparation. Les vacances de Noël approchent…15  jours pendant lesquels vous allez devoir peut-être laisser vos enfants un moment à leurs grands-parents, afin de pouvoir aller travailler alors que l’école/ la crèche est fermée. Vous voyez déjà les larmes poindre dans les yeux de vos enfants ?  Alors, voici quelques astuces pour une séparation tout en douceur. *** Anticipez et parlez pour préparer la séparation : vous allez laisser votre enfant, dites-lui pourquoi ! Les…

Take it easy with Cécile #1 : comment survivre aux devoirs?

Take it easy with Cécile #1 : comment survivre aux devoirs? Vous avez découvert Cécile il y a peu dans notre section Family Connexion. Elle fait désormais partie de l’équipe Sweet Cabane, à notre plus grande joie! Vous la retrouverez souvent dans cette nouvelle rubrique ‘Take it Easy’ qui, sans prétention, cherche à vous aider dans des situations  familiales du quotidien. Cécile anime en parallèle le blog La Turbulette qui parle des parents, du travail, et des relations familiales. Aujourd’hui,…