Cosy soup

Night is falling early these days and evening temperatures are decreasing rapidly  … In short, it’s time to welcome soup again! 🙂  Nothing better to warm up the body and fill it up with good vitamins to fight against viruses! And to remain seasonal, I propose a recipe based on celeriac and chestnuts, made in only 15 minutes. *** Preparation time: 10 minutes Cooking time: 15 minutes Ingredients 1/2 celeriac 400 ml of water 400 ml whole milk 10 large…

Apples’ season

Apples are back! Such a great news! These fruits are an inexhaustible source of recipes : baked in the oven, prepared in a crumble, a pudding, or a pie … Served as dessert or  with a salty dish … In short, endless possibilities! Today, after several seasons spent in Sologne, I would like to share with you the French Tatin pie recipe. Invented by chance by the Tatin sisters at Lamotte-Beuvron, this dessert made from shortcrust  (or puff pastry) and caramelized…

Blackberry bars

When I was a child, I used to go and pick wild blackberries with my mother and my little brother at the end of Summer. So many joyful memories! And now, nothing makes me happier than picking blackberries with my own kids to make some jam or some desserts… It’s a very special moment as we enjoy last days of long summer holidays and already see the first signs of Autumn… Here are some photos of our last picking into…

SUMMER SNACK

We are back in our beautiful countryside for long and beautiful summer days with family and (many) friends ! Even if we have more time than usual in this period of the year, it is not always easy to make healthy and tasty snacks for children … This summer, our favorite recipes play the card of simplicity with snacks mainly made up of bread and jam. Thanks to Kitchen Aid’s Cook Processor, I can make good abricot and lavender jam (our favourite) a sweet…

Spring afternoon snack

During our last family Spring break in lovely Sologne, warm weather disposed us to long snacks in the garden … The opportunity to test and to make many recipes, among which lilac cordial. This very sweet cordial is delicious with still or fizzy water and goes very well with cakes for an afternoon snack. Its preparation is very playful and can also be a great activity to do with the kids! At home, we tasted it with homemade ‘cannelés’ whose recipe I also share here. *** LILAC CORDIAL Ingredients 20 lilas heads…

Mad about fermentation

Fermentation is the oldest known food preservation technique, it has existed for nearly 5000 years, (the Ancient Egyptians already used it). Set aside in recent years, it is rediscovered today as it’s full of  nutritionnel benefits. There are different types of food fermentation: Alcoholic fermentation : it transforms the food sugar into ethyl alcohol thanks to the action of yeasts. It also produces glycerol and succinic acid, which are involved in lipid metabolism. This fermentation is commonly used with cereals and fruits to make…

Three Winter salads

Far from being boring, Winter vegetable can be prepared in various ways and make a lot of tasty recipes! Fryed, steamed, in soup or salads, …. At the moment, after a kind of ‘soup addiction’ in th early January, I have a special taste for salads. Here are some recipes of salads that I have developed this winter from squash, cauliflower and lentils …Do you know that cauliflower is the most fasionable vegetable this year?  All are very easy to make and can make a…

January French “Hygge”

January is the month of the year when I prefer to stay warm at home, especially this week when the weather is intensely cold ;). Far from being boring, I love it because finally, when you live in Paris,you’re very often outside, constantly doing lots of activities …. It is also the month to strengthen our immune system to fight against viruses. It’s why I’d like to share with you some little Winter habits that make January cosier and lots more attractive than it could appear at…

Light but scrumptious Epiphany Cake

After long Christmas holidays, Sweet Cabane is going back to wish you a Happy New Year. That it brings you joy, laughter, love … and that it allows you to realize your dearest projects! I also hope that you will still be present here as it is a great pleasure for me  to share these moments with you. This first post of the year is about a recipe of light Epiphany Cake not to end the good detox resolutions (for those who have) … And…

Norwegian Christmas

Today, we’re going to Norway, where Christmas traditions are very important all along the month of December. It’s all about making wreaths, decorating the house and cooking! My dear friend Birgitte, I’ve already interviewed with her sweet family on Sweet Cabane, is telling us about beautiful Christmas cookies tradition in her country and gives us, at the end of the article, the delicious gingerbread recipe she’s used to making every year in December. So let’s go to the Norwegian enchanting…

Soupe cosy

La nuit tombe vite, les soirées se font très fraîches… Bref, le temps des soupes est revenu 🙂 Rien de mieux pour se réchauffer et faire le plein de bonnes vitamines pour lutter contre les virus! Et pour rester bien dans l’automne, je vous propose une recette à base de céleri rave et de châtaignes, réalisée en  seulement 15 minutes. Tentant, non? *** Temps de préparation : 10 minutes Temps de cuisson : 15 minutes Ingrédients : 1/2 céleri rave…

Le temps des pommes

Le temps des pommes est revenu, et c’est avec délice que j’accueille cette nouvelle ! Ces fruits sont une source inépuisable de recettes : dorées au four, en crumble, en pudding, en fondant ou en tarte… Servies en dessert ou en accompagnement d’un plat salé…  Bref, une infinité de possibilités !  Aujourd’hui, après plusieurs vacances passées dans ma jolie Sologne, c’est la recette de la tarte Tatin que j’aimerais partager avec vous ici. Inventée par accident par les sœurs Tatin à Lamotte-Beuvron, ce dessert à…

Barres biscuitées aux mûres

Depuis toute petite, j’adore aller cueillir les mûres dans les chemins en cette douce période de transition de fin août-début septembre. A ce moment, sont associés la fin des vacances, le retour à l’école, les premiers signes de l’automne… Je me souviens des gelées de mûres que nous faisions dès notre retour de cueillette, puis des délicieuses crêpes que nous faisait ma mère et que nous fourrions de gelée de mûre encore tiède. C’est tous ses souvenirs que je retrouve…

Goûter d’été

Nous voici de retour dans notre campagne solognote pour de longues et belles journées d’été en famille et avec les amis, parfois nombreux! Même si on a plus de temps que d’ordinaire en cette période, pas toujours facile de préparer des goûters sains et savoureux pour les enfants… Cet été, nos recettes favorites jouent la carte de la simplicité avec des goûters principalement à base de pain et de confiture. J’ai opté il y a peu pour le  Cook Processor de Kitchen…

Goûter de Printemps

Pendant les vacances de printemps que nous avons passées dans la douce Sologne, le beau temps se prêtait aux longs goûters dans le jardin… L’occasion d’expérimenter  plusieurs recettes, dont celle du sirop de lilas, bien de saison. Ce sirop très doux est délicieux avec de l’eau plate ou gazeuse et accompagne très bien cakes et autres délices du goûter. Sa préparation est très ludique et peut aussi constituer une chouette activité avec les kids! A la maison, nous l’avons dégusté…

Passion fermentation

La fermentation est la plus ancienne technique de conservation des aliments connue, elle existe depuis près de 5000 ans (les Egyptiens l’utilisaient déjà). Mise de côté ces dernières années, on la redécouvre aujourd’hui car elle possède, en plus de ses vertus de conservation, d‘incroyables bénéfices nutritionnels. Il existe différents types de fermentation des aliments : La fermentation alcoolique : elle transforme les sucres d’un aliment en alcool éthylique grâce à l’action de levures. C’est la fermentation couramment utilisée pour les céréales…

Trois salades en hiver

Loin d’être ennuyeux, les légumes d’hiver se cuisinent de multiples façons et permettent de créer plein de recettes savoureuses! En gratin, en friture, à la vapeur, en soupe ou en salade, les variations sont multiples…. En ce moment, après une cure de soupes début janvier, j’ai un penchant tout particulier pour les salades qui sont souvent encore plus goûteuses et complètes. Voici donc quelques recettes de salades que j’ai mises au point cet hiver et qui mettent à l’honneur le…

Un hiver Hygge

Janvier est le mois de l’année où je préfère rester bien au chaud chez moi, notamment cette semaine où le froid s’annonce particulièrement piquant ;). Loin d’être une contrainte, c’est un vrai plaisir car finalement, quand on habite Paris, on est souvent dehors, sans cesse sollicité par des tas d’activités…. C’est aussi le mois où il faut renforcer son système immunitaire pour lutter contre les nombreux virus. Tout cela m’a donné  l’idée de partager avec vous quelques petites habitudes d’hiver…

Galette des Rois toute légère

Après 10 jours de vacances, Sweet Cabane reprend sa plume pour vous souhaiter tout d’abord une belle année 2017. Qu’elle vous apporte de la joie, des rires, de l’amour… et qu’elle vous permette de réaliser vos projets les plus chers! J’espère également que vous serez toujours présents ici car c’est un immense plaisir de partager ces moments avec vous. Ce premier post de l’année vous propose une recette de galette des Rois toute en légèreté pour ne pas mettre fin aux bonnes…

Noël norvégien

Pour rentrer pleinement dans les préparatifs de Noël, direction la Norvège où les festivités ont lieu tout au long du mois de Décembre. Couronnes de feuillages et branchages, confection de jolis sablés, réunions de famille, … le temps est au vivre ensemble et aux joies simples. Pour vous parler de tout cela, j’ai fait appel à mon amie Birgitte, qui habite à une centaine de kilomètres d’Oslo et que j’avais déjà interviewée sur SC il y a quelques mois (voir ici). Elle nous parle…