Mad about fermentation

Fermentation is the oldest known food preservation technique, it has existed for nearly 5000 years, (the Ancient Egyptians already used it). Set aside in recent years, it is rediscovered today as it’s full of  nutritionnel benefits. There are different types of food fermentation: Alcoholic fermentation : it transforms the food sugar into ethyl alcohol thanks to the action of yeasts. It also produces glycerol and succinic acid, which are involved in lipid metabolism. This fermentation is commonly used with cereals and fruits to make…

Winter granola

During these last November days, energy starts faltering (the holidays are already so far, and it’s not really Christmas time…). So I’ve made here a recipe that is simple, greedy and full of good ingredients to boost the whole family! Sarrazin, cinnamon, sunflower seeds and hazelnuts make an excellent mix to fight against gloominess and viruses. This granola is ultra easy to make and can be enjoyed on many occasions: not only for breakfast, but also for dessert or just as a snack! Delicious alone, with…

Eating well with Lila#9 : less meat, more cereals!

Eating less meat is a growing awareness in France. Without completely withdrawing meat from our diet, reducing its consumption is a good idea, both for your body and for the environment. If regular consumption of animal products is essential i for a balanced diet, over-meat consumption can have negative effects on human health. By 2015, WHO has officially ranked red meat and processed meat (sausages) as a probable carcinogen for human people. In addition, intensive livestock farming is polluting and the massive use…

Watermelon, the fruit of Summer 2016

This summer, wherever we were on holidays, watermelon was always celebrated, ready to replace cucumber and tomato among the fruits of the summer … From Italy to Spain, I collected very good recipes… Watermelon is very good for the health. It is low in sugar (7 g per 100g) and calories (120 kJ per 100g) and has great properties since it is a strong source of antioxidants, vitamin A (for the view) and vitamin C ( essential for the proper functioning of the…

Zucchini noodles with shrimps

Here is a very light dish to stop feeling guilty after long and generous Summer “apéritif”s … I’ve made it several times during our holiday in Puglia and, each time, everyone loved it! It’s easy to make, quick and rather aesthetical;) Let’s cook! *** Preparation time: 10 minutes Cooking time: 5 minutes (3min + 2 min) Ingredients for 4 people : 150g medium or small shrimp (3-4 per person) 3 medium zucchini 15 cl white wine (optional) 2 tablespoons oil Fresh parsley Salt & pepper…

Eating well with Lila #8 : red passion

In June, the choice of seasonal fruits and vegetables greatly increases through gardens and markets … We must therefore take the opportunity to fill us up with  good vitamins and antioxidants! Among them, I have a soft preference for beets, strawberries and tomatoes that are all good  and very easy to find and to cook. Here are some explanations about these fruits and vegetable and very easy and fast Summer recipes. *** BEET It is an excellent source of antioxydants : its flesh is rich…

Eating well with Lila #7 : Young Spring sprouts

Spring is the best season for young sprouts and asparagus! Nutritionally, they’re full of benefits, so let’s taste them! THE DIETICIAN’S EXPLANATIONS Spinach : it’s a great source of carotenoids that protect our eyes (retinal degeneration, cataracts and retinitis pigmentosa). Cooked spinach is more nutritious than ras ones (cooked spinach contains nearly 6 times more lutein, zeaxanthin and betaine than raw spinach). Regarding iron, Popeye’s allegations are true :  spinach is full of iron … but be aware that iron from vegetable is very little absorbed by…

Eating well with Lila #6 : January detox

To be in a better form after drinking and eating too much during Christmas holidays, this a short detox therapy to follow during 1 to 3 days.  *** First, try to get rid of alcohol, coffee, sugar and animal proteins; and opt for seasonal fruits and vegetable : soups, juices, grilled or steamed vegetable. The only important thing is to get rid of oil and butter while cooking them. The following list indicates what fruits and vegetable are the best for a…

Eating well with Lila #5 : Autumn vegetable

Bien manger avec Lila #5 : légumes d'automne

After a full of fruit and vegetable summer, we sometimes wonder what we could eat during Fall without feeling bored : carrots, cabbage, pumpkins, parsnip, apples, pears…? ’ Here there are some boards to help you to know what you can eat during Fall :   Carrot and parsnip are both sweet. Tey’re full of antioxydant and  falcarinol, a powerful anti-fungal that would help preventing cancer. They’re also full of fibers (2g per 100g). Moreover, parsnip is a great source of…

Easy meal #21 : Goat cheese and eggplant rolls

It’s been a long time since I haven’t made any new recipe because of very busy weeks… This recipe is alI need for summertime : easy -to-make, healthy, and playfuf with kids. If you don’t like goat cheese, you can use whatever fresh cheese you prefer, of course… Preparation time : 5 minutes Baking time : 20 minutes (5 min + 15 min) Ingredients (servings 4) 2 big eggplants 200 g fresh goat cheese 1 tablespoon single cream Salt and…

Passion fermentation

La fermentation est la plus ancienne technique de conservation des aliments connue, elle existe depuis près de 5000 ans (les Egyptiens l’utilisaient déjà). Mise de côté ces dernières années, on la redécouvre aujourd’hui car elle possède, en plus de ses vertus de conservation, d‘incroyables bénéfices nutritionnels. Il existe différents types de fermentation des aliments : La fermentation alcoolique : elle transforme les sucres d’un aliment en alcool éthylique grâce à l’action de levures. C’est la fermentation couramment utilisée pour les céréales…

Granola d’hiver

Pour cette fin de mois de novembre où l’énergie commence à faiblir (les vacances sont déjà loin, ce n’est pas vraiment encore la période des fêtes…), voici une recette simple, gourmande et pleine de bons ingrédients qui saura redonner un coup de fouet à toute la famille! Sarrazin, cannelle, graines de tournesol et noisettes font un excellent mix pour lutter contre la grisaille et les virus. Ce granola est ultra facile à faire et pourra se déguster en plein d’occasions :…

Bien manger avec Lila #9 : moins de viande, plus de céréales!

Manger moins de viande est une prise de conscience croissante en France. Sans pour autant retirer totalement la viande de son alimentation, en diminuer la consommation est une bonne idée, aussi bien nutritionnelle qu’environnementale. Si la consommation régulière de produits d’origine animale est indispensable dans le cadre d’une alimentation équilibrée, la surconsommation peut avoir des effets négatifs sur la santé humaine. En 2015, L’OMS a officiellement classé la viande rouge parmi les cancérigènes probables chez l’humain et les viandes transformées…

L’été de la pastèque

Cet été, quel que soit l’endroit où nous avons séjourné, la pastèque a toujours été de la fête, prête à remplacer le concombre et la tomates au rang des fruits de l’été… De l’Italie à l’Espagne, ce fruit bien du Sud s’est faite une jolie place au soleil! La pastèque a tout pour plaire. Elle est pauvre en sucres (7g pour 100g) et en calories (120 KJ pour 100g) et possède des propriétés  intéressantes puisqu’elle est une forte source d’antioxydants,…

Nouilles de courgettes aux crevettes

Voici un plat tout léger pour déculpabiliser après les longs et copieux apéros d’été… Je l’ai réalisé plusieurs fois pendant nos vacances dans les Pouilles et, à chaque fois, tout le monde a adoré. C’est un plat facile à faire, rapide et au résultat plutôt réussi esthétiquement 😉 A vos fourneaux! *** Temps de préparation  : 10 minutes Temps de cuisson : 5 minutes (3min+ 2 min) Ingrédients pour 4 personnes :  150 g de crevettes moyennes ou petites (3-4 par…

Bien manger avec Lila #8 : rouge passion

Au mois de juin, le choix de fruits et légumes de saison augmente considérablement dans les potagers et sur les marchés… Il faut donc en profiter pour faire le plein de bonnes vitamines et d’anti-oxydants! Parmi eux, j’ai un petit faible pour la betterave, la fraise et la tomate qui ont tout bon et qui sont très faciles à trouver et à cuisiner. Voici quelques explications et des recettes faciles à réaliser en famille. *** LA BETTERAVE C’est une excellente source…

Bien manger avec Lila #7 : jeunes pousses de Printemps

C’est  le printemps, la saison idéale pour déguster jeunes pousses et asperges, bourrées d’anti-oxydants et de vitamines …Alors on en profite et on multiplie les recettes faciles pour bien les apprécier ! LE POINT DIETETIQUE Les épinards : ils sont une excellente source de caroténoïdes qui protègent nos yeux (dégénérescence de la rétine, cataracte et rétinite pigmentaire). Les épinards cuits sont plus nutritifs que les crus (les épinards cuits contiennent près de 6 fois plus de lutéine, de zéaxanthine et de bétaïne que…

Bien manger avec Lila #6 : janvier détox

Bien manger avec Lila #6 : janvier détox. Pour se sentir bien après les excès des fêtes, je vous propose une petite cure détox à faire pendant 1 à 3 journées pour s’alléger et laisser reposer son système digestif, son foie et ses reins. *** Pour cela il faut tout d’abord éliminer l’alcool, le café, le sucre et les protéines animales, et privilégier les fruits et légumes de saison sous toutes leurs formes : soupes, jus, poêlées, au four, vapeur… L’important est d’éviter…

Bien manger avec Lila #5 : légumes d’automne

Bien manger avec Lila #5 : légumes d'automne

Bien manger avec Lila #5 : légumes d’automne. L’été est terminé et on se demande quel fruits et légumes on va bien pouvoir manger sans s’ennuyer : Carottes, choux, potirons,  panais,  pommes,  poires…? Pour vous aider voici des petits tableaux pour ne rien oublier et vous aider à varier vos repas. La carotte et le panais avec leur saveur douce et sucrée sont de la même famille. Ils contiennent des antioxydants et surtout du falcarinol, un antifongique puissant qui jouerait un rôle…

Easy meal #21 : rouleaux d’aubergines au chèvre frais

Easy meal #21 : rouleaux d’aubergines au chèvre frais. Cela fait quelque temps que je ne m’étais pas remise aux fourneaux : pas trop d’idées et aussi pas mal de travail (arghhh…). Mais, me revoilà avec une recette hyper simple et délicieuse en été, notamment pour les fans d’aubergines! Ces rouleaux, avec leur forme ludique et facile à consommer, sont aussi très appréciés des enfants. Vous pouvez même vous lancer dans leur confection avec eux car c’est vraiment très facile…