Pretty books to wait for Christmas

How to bring Christmas spirit to your children? Through books of course, notably with the classics, to read again and again all along December. Poetic, tender and snowy, here are six books to read at bed under a thick blanket, snuggled against your children.

Christmas animals by Richard Scarry

Richard Scarry is probably one of the the most famous author and illustrator for children in the United States and maybe in the world. This collection of stories  subjects are delightful animals, nice and tender. A bit outdated, which increases the charm of this reissue.

Santa animals – from 3 years  – Richard scary – Albin Michel jeunesse, € 14.90

Ernest and Célestine’s Christmas

These three beautiful Christmas stories give us an opportunity to find our two heroes, the big Ernest and the little Celestine. The drawings are lovely watercolors while the text: sophisticated, funny and moving is a real delight.

Ernest & Celestine’s christmas by Gabrielle Vincent, Casterman – from 5 to 8 years € -18

Santa’s letter

This pretty little Christmas story also puts on stage the cutest animals. The poor mouse mailman after overthrowing his letters in the snow is troubled, an address being deleted; thanks to the solidarity of his friends in the forest, he finally finds the sender who is Santa Claus himself ! This timeless story is definitely a jewel of literature for children.

Christmas letter by Yukiko Tanno and Mako Taruishi – published at  l’Ecole des Loisirs – from 3 years, 5.60 €

 Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens 

This Christmas classic literature will seduce beyond doubt the elderly with ghost stories. It’s an opportunity to introduce them to one of the greatest English novelists of the 19th century.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens – Gallimard Jeunesse – € 25

Balthazar’s christmas

This beautiful book tells the story of Balthazar on Christmas Eve, who wants to offer a gift to Pépin, but his pockets are empty … Mr. Merlin and his enchanted store will help. This magical tale will  thrill the children without even evoking Santa.

Balthazar’s christmas by  Emma Kelly, Hatier Jeunesse – from 3 years – 5 € 30

Seeking for Santa 

 

This little and original book, with wonderful artwork tells the story of a funny little snowman who decides to leave the garden in which he lives to meet Santa and bring him a gift. One can only melt for this reckless and generous snowman!

Seeking for Santa, by Thierry Bedieu – published in Seuil – from 3 years – € 18

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

De jolis livres pour attendre Noël

Processed with VSCOcam with a1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with a1 preset

Comment transmettre l’esprit de Noël à ses enfants ? Grâce aux livres bien sûr, notamment avec les indispensables classiques, à lire et à  relire sans relâche chaque mois de décembre. Poétiques, tendres et enneigés, voici six livres qui nous rendent un brin frileux, à lire à voix haute sous une épaisse couverture, bien blottis contre ses enfants.

Le Noël des animaux de Richard Scarry

Richard Scarry est probablement l’un des auteurs et illustrateurs pour enfants les plus célèbres aux Etats-Unis. Ce recueil d’histoires de Noël met en scène de ravissants animaux, sympathiques et tendres. Un brin désuet, c’est aussi ce qui fait le charme de cette réédition.

Le Noël des animaux – à partir de 3 ans – de Richard scary chez Albin Michel jeunesse, 14,90€

Les Noëls d’Ernest et Célestine

Ces trois jolies histoires de Noël nous donnent l’occasion de retrouver nos deux héros, l’immense Ernest, et la petite Célestine. Les images toujours à l’aquarelle sont ravissantes tandis que le texte, raffiné, drôle et émouvant est un véritable enchantement.

Les Noëls d’Ernest et Célestine de Gabrielle Vincent, chez Casterman – de 5 à 8 ans -18€ 

La lettre du Père Noël

Ce joli petit conte de Noël met lui aussi en scène de très jolis animaux. Le pauvre facteur souris après avoir renversé ses lettres dans la neige est bien embêté, une adresse s’est effacée d’un courrier ; grâce  à la solidarité de ses amis de la forêt, il finit par retrouver l’expéditeur qui n’est autre que le Père Noël ! Cette histoire indémodable est définitivement un bijou de la littérature pour enfant.

La lettre de Noël de Yukiko Tanno et Mako Taruishi – publié à l’Ecole des Loisirs – à partir de 3 ans, 5,60€

Un chant de Noël de Charles Dickens

Ce classique de la littérature de Noël séduira sans aucun de doute les plus grands avec ses histoires de fantômes. L’occasion de leur faire découvrir l’un des plus grands romanciers anglais du 19ème siècle. Les illustrations de Roberto Innocenti nous transportent dans le Londres du 19è siècle et transcrivent à merveille l’univers de Dickens.

Un chant de Noël de Charles Dickens chez Gallimard jeunesse –  25€

Le Noël de Balthazar

Ce joli livre raconte l’histoire de Balthazar qui la veille de Noël, veut offrir un cadeau à Pépin, mais ses poches sont vides… Monsieur Merlin et son magasin enchanté vont l’aider. Ce petit conte magique enchantera les enfants,… sans même parler du Père Noël.

Le Noël de Balthazar d’Emma Kelly, Hatier Jeunesse – à partir de  3 ans – 5€30

A la recherche du Père Noël de Thierry Dedieu

Ce petit livre original, aux illustrations soignées raconte l’histoire d’un drôle de petit bonhomme de neige qui décide de quitter le jardin dans lequel il vit pour rencontrer le père Noël et lui apporter un cadeau. On ne peut que fondre pour ce bonhomme de neige téméraire et généreux !

A la recherche du Père Noël de Thierry Dedieu – publié au Seuil Jeunesse – à partir de 3 ans – 18€

 

Bonne semaine à tous,

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *