Fanny Moizant, founder of ‘Vestiaire Collective’

This Monday, after two weeks of Winter holidays, we meet a very inspiring mum, Fanny Moizant, who founded Vestiaire Collective, a famous online shop you’ve certainly  already heard of 😉 …

She manages this digital firm from London, where she lives with her husband, Michael, and her two daughters Jeanne and Louise, 9 and 10 years old.

Fanny tells us how the idea of launching Vestiaire Collective came to her mind, and how she organises her daily life  as a working mum. 

***

How did you get the idea to create Vestiaire Collective?

The idea came to me while I was reading an article on the Recession generation in the French ELLE magazine. I found that it could be interesting to sell second hand clothes in a  more social and inspiring way. I wanted to create a platform that will allow people who love fashion to buy and sell with confidence thanks to services such as a great product selection and quality control.

Vestiaire Collective was born on October 9, 2009. At the beginning, I had five partners. Today my job is to manage the Europeen development and communication of the brand. I’ve been based in London for 3 years and I now have teams in Berlin, Paris, Milan and NYC.

Today we federate a community of over 4 million members in more than 10 countries. There are 400 000 items for sale on the site of more than 3,000 brands.

Before launching Vestiaire Collective, I worked a few months in Fashion (for John Galliano and Dim), then I worked for six years in the interior design industry. At that time, I was marketing a non sexy product: oilcloth !!! I worked with major retailers. I learnt a lot, but it was not very inspiring!

I had then a ‘baby break’ for 3 years to give birth to Louise and Jeanne. Between my two pregnancies, I studied at the French Fashion Institute to be able to work again in the Fashion Industry, which was my passion.

It was when I decided to create my own business.

What do you like about your  job?

Everything! Feeling the business adrenaline, being surrounded by a talented team, meeting new people, travelling, constantly learning, being confronted to the unknown, being at risk …

What don’t you like ?

Stress! … Business life is full of pitfalls. You have to live with it, but sometimes it’s really too much!

Crédit photo : Fanny Moizant
Crédit photo : Fanny Moizant

Have you find a good balance between pro and personal life?

It is fragile …. I try to give all I can to my family, but this is not always that enough. I would say the most important thing is not the quantity, but the quality of time you can give. You have to learn how to leave out your cell phone or your computer for a moment to share “quality time” with your children or your husband.

We’re lucky to have an ‘au pair’ living with us. It allows me to be more flexible when I’m at work or when I travel. I know the girls are always with her. The only problem is that I have  to find a new ‘gem’ each year)!

Crédit photo : Fanny Moizant
Crédit photo : Fanny Moizant

What would you change in your current organization?

Nothing indeed. I talk a lot to my girls about my work. They understand that I could not be as available as some other mums are. What I miss most is not to be able to get them  to school from time to time…

What advice would you give to a mum willing to start a new activity?

Be well surrounded! In your personal life and in your pro life : you must be able to rely on people you trust and who are also full of kindness. Success is rarely an individual work, almost always a collective one.

Hire the right nanny, get a mentor, listen to the kind advice of those around you (run away from the pessimistic speech), get out, talk, be inspired … all relies on exchange and contact with other people.

Crédit photo : fanny Moizant
Crédit photo : fanny Moizant

Before ending, would you have good London kids addressesto share with us?

  • www.smallable.com for children clothes
  • http://veryfrenchgangsters.com to find nice glasses for children
  • The educational app GGRIMM to learn with fun
  • The British Museum and its children’s play trail
  • Outings at Regents Park or Hyde Park with a bag of nuts for London squirrels 😉
  • The Tate Modern and its playful kids activities

***

Many thanks to Fanny for all her inspiring words! Don’t hesitate to have a look at Vestiaire Collective : you will surely find many fashion treasures!

Have a wonderful week,

Emilie.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fanny Moizant, fondatrice de Vestiaire Collective

Pour ce lundi de rentrée, nous rencontrons une mum très inspirante, Fanny Moizant, créatrice de Vestiaire Collective, que vous devez déjà toutes connaître 😉 …

Elle dirige son entreprise depuis Londres, où elle vit avec son mari, Michael, et ses deux filles, Jeanne et Louise, respectivement âgées de 9 et 10 ans.

Fanny nous raconte ici la genèse de son projet, son quotidien et son organisation pour gérer au mieux carrière et vie personnelle. 

***

Comment as-tu eu l’idée de lancer Vestiaire Collective?

L’idée m’est venue alors que je lisais un article sur la “Génération des recessionistas” dans ELLE. J’ai trouvé malin le fait de revendre ses vêtements d’une manière differente, plus sociale, plus inspirante. J’ai alors voulu créer une plateforme qui permettrait aux personnes qui aiment la mode d’acheter et de vendre en toute sérennité grace à des services comme la selection des produits et leur controle qualité.

Vestiaire Collective est né le 9 octobre 2009 avec 5 associés. Aujourd’hui mon job consiste à gérer le développement européen et la communication. Je suis basée à Londres depuis 3 ans, mais j’ai des équipes à Berlin, Paris, Milan et NYC.

Aujourd’hui nous fédérons une communauté de plus de 4 millions de membres dans plus de 10 pays. Il y a 400 000 articles en vente sur le site de plus de 3000 marques.

Avant de lancer Vestiaire Collective, j’ai fait un bref passage dans la mode (chez John Galliano et chez Dim), puis j’ai travaillé pendant six ans dans la déco. A l’époque je marketais des produits peu sexy : des toiles cirées!!! Je travaillais pour de grandes enseignes de distribution. C’était très instructif mais pas toujours très inspirant…

J’ai alors fait une pause bébé de 3 ans, Louise et Jeanne sont arrivées à 18 mois d’intervalle. Entre les deux grossesses, j’ai fait le master de l’Institut Francais de la mode pour me permettre de revenir à mes premières amours : la mode.

C’est à ce moment la que j’ai eu le déclic entrepreneurial.

Qu’aimes-tu dans ton travail aujourd’hui?

Tout! L’adrénaline de l’entrepreneur, l’énergie et le talent des équipes qui m’accompagnent, les nombreuses rencontres, les voyages, apprendre encore et tout le temps, l’inconnu, le risque…..

Crédit photo : Fanny Moizant
Crédit photo : Fanny Moizant

Qu’aimes-tu moins?

Le stress… La vie d’entrepreneur est bardée d’embûches. Il faut savoir vivre avec, mais cela occasionne parfois beaucoup de stress. A certains moments, je me sens comme sur un grand 8 lancé à 1000 à l’heure : c’est excitant, mais il faut avoir le coeur bien accroché!

As-tu trouvé un bon équilibre vie pro/ vie perso?

Il est fragile…. J’essaie de donner le maximum à ma famille, mais cela n’est pas toujours évident. Je dirais que le plus important n’est pas la quantité que l’on donne, mais la qualité. Pour cela, il faut savoir lâcher prise et fuir son téléphone ou son ordi pendant quelques heures si on veut consacrer du « quality time » à ses enfants ou à son mari.

Heureusement, on a une  jeune fille au pair qui vit avec nous : c’est une aide précieuse. Cela me donne plus de flexibilité dans mes horaires et lors de mes voyages. Je sais que les filles sont toujours avec elle, quoi qu’il arrive. Le seul problème est de trouver une perle chaque année 😉 !

Crédit photo : Fanny Moizant
Crédit photo : Fanny Moizant

Qu’aimerais-tu changer dans ton organisation actuelle?

Pas grand chose en fait. Je parle beaucoup à mes filles de mon travail. Elles comprennent que je ne puisse pas être aussi disponible que certaines mamans et vivent très bien avec. Ce qui me manque, c’est d’aller les chercher de temps en temps à l’école, de leur faire la surprise….

Quels conseils donnerais-tu à une mum qui voudrait se lancer dans une nouvelle activité?

Soyez bien entourée! Dans votre vie perso comme dans votre vie pro, il faut pouvoir s’appuyer sur des personnes de confiance et qui sont aussi plein de bienveillance. La réussite est rarement une oeuvre individuelle, quasiment toujours collective.

Recrutez la bonne nounou, prenez un mentor, associez-vous, écoutez les conseils bienveillants de votre entourage (fuyez les discours pessismistes), sortez, parlez, soyez inspirée… Tout est dans l’échange, le contact, l’autre.

Crédit photo : fanny Moizant
Crédit photo : Fanny Moizant

Enfin, aurais-tu des bonnes adresses kids sur Londres à nous faire partager ?

  • www.smallable.com évidemment
  • http://veryfrenchgangsters.com pour trouver de jolies lunettes de vue pour les enfants
  • L’appli pédagogique GGRIMM pour apprendre en s’amusant
  • Le British Museum et ses parcours de jeux pour enfants
  • Les sorties à Regents Park ou à Hyde Park avec un sac de noisettes pour le bonheur des écureuils londoniens 😉
  • La Tate Modern et ses activités pour les kids toujours très ludiques.

***

Mille mercis à Fanny pour cette interview sincère et inspirante. Je vous invite à faire un tour sur Vestiaire Collective où vous trouverez sans nul doute de quoi faire votre bonheur et égayer ce lundi de reprise 😉 …

Belle semaine à tous,

A jeudi!

Emilie.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *