Watermelon, the fruit of Summer 2016

This summer, wherever we were on holidays, watermelon was always celebrated, ready to replace cucumber and tomato among the fruits of the summer … From Italy to Spain, I collected very good recipes…

Watermelon is very good for the health. It is low in sugar (7 g per 100g) and calories (120 kJ per 100g) and has great properties since it is a strong source of antioxidants, vitamin A (for the view) and vitamin C ( essential for the proper functioning of the immune system). It is also rich in sodium (that we loose when we sweat a lot) and potassium, which helps regulate blood pressure.

I want to share with you here two recipes we enjoyed a lot in coffee shops and restaurants : from Italy, watermelon smoothie, which is ultra refreshing, tasty and low in calories … from San Sebastian in Spain, the  watermelon gaspacho. Here are recipes of my own.

***

WATERMELON SMOOTHIE

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Ingredients for 2 glasses:

  • 500 g of watermelon
  • the juice of half a lime
  • 1 dozen fresh mint leaves

Peel and core watermelon, press lime and wash the mint leaves. Mix everything in a blender with 10 cl of water and some ice cubes. It’s ready! Drink this smoothie immediately! A delight for children and adults for hot summer days of late August …

 

WATERMELON GASPACHO

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Ingredients (servings 4 ):

  • 500 g of watermelon
  • 4 fresh tomatoes
  • Half a red pepper
  • 2 spring onions
  • 2 tablespoons good olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon wine vinegar
  • Salt, pepper
  • Some fresh basil leaves for topping

Peel and core the vegetables. Cut the onions in half, cut the watermelon in cubes, the tomatoes into quarters and the pepper into thick slices. Mix it all with a few ice cubes. Then add the oil, vinegar, salt and pepper. Delicious when it’s cool!

***

Have a lovely weekend and see you on Monday for a Mum at Work ‘s interview : Amanda Jane Jones, who was at the origin of Kinfolk magazine, will talk about her career, her professional path and her family life.

Love

Emilie.xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

L’été de la pastèque

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Cet été, quel que soit l’endroit où nous avons séjourné, la pastèque a toujours été de la fête, prête à remplacer le concombre et la tomates au rang des fruits de l’été… De l’Italie à l’Espagne, ce fruit bien du Sud s’est faite une jolie place au soleil!

La pastèque a tout pour plaire. Elle est pauvre en sucres (7g pour 100g) et en calories (120 KJ pour 100g) et possède des propriétés  intéressantes puisqu’elle est une forte source d’antioxydants, de vitamine A (bonne pour les yeux) et de vitamine C (indispensable pour le bon fonctionnement du système immunitaire). Elle est également riche en sodium ( ce que l’on perd quand on transpire beaucoup) et en potassium, qui aide à réguler la pression artérielle.

Cet été, deux recettes autour de la pastèque m’ont particulièrement plu : d’Italie, nous avons rapporté le smoothie pastèque citron vert- menthe ultra rafraichissant, goûteux et faible en calories,… et de San Sebastian, le gaspacho à la pastèque. En voici les recettes, retranscrites à ma façon.

***

SMOOTHIE A LA PASTEQUE

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Ingrédients pour 2 verres :

  • 500 g de pastèque
  • le jus d’un demi citron vert
  • 1 quinzaine de feuilles de menthe fraîche

Pelez et épépinez la pastèque, pressez le citron et lavez les feuilles de menthe. Mixez le tout au blender avec 10 cl d’eau et quelques glaçons. C’est prêt! A consommer immédiatement. Un régal pour petits et grands pour les chaudes journées d’été de cette fin août…

 

GASPACHO A LA PASTEQUE

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Ingrédients (pour 4 personnes) : 

  • 500 g de pastèque
  • 4 tomates fraîches
  • 1/ poivron rouge
  • 2 oignons frais
  • 2 cuillères à soupe d’une bonne huile d’olive
  • 1 cuillère à soupe de vinaigre de vin
  • Sel, poivre
  • Quelques feuilles de basilic frais pour la décoration

Pelez et épépinez les légumes. Coupez les oignons en deux, la pastèque en cubes, les tomates en quartiers et le poivron en grosses lamelles. Mixez-le tout avec quelques glaçons. Rajoutez ensuite l’huile, le vinaigre, le sel et poivre. Délicieux bien frais! Un goût plus doux et sucré que le traditionnel gaspacho à base de concombre… Je préfère 😉

 

***

Bonne fin de semaine!

A lundi pour une interview Mum at Work : Amanda Jane Jones, qui est à l’origine du magazine Kinfolk, nous parlera de ses projets pro, de son parcours et de sa vie de famille.

Je vous embrasse,

Emilie.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *