Wintertime under the quilt

Whereas Paris doesn’t really know anymore what winter is and that it’s difficult to see some snow at the window, we love reading and rereading at home books that plunge us into a wadded and cold winter, where nature seems asleep … a way to relax by living at th slow pace naturally imposed by this season.
Here is a selection of pretty albums we value both for their story and for their illustrations. All depict an animal world in close contact with Nature (link we often forget ourselves unfortunately …). These are not necessarily recent books, but only our favorites, the books we’ve been reading and rereading for nearly ten years …
So, let’s dive under the duvet with our little ones and read these beautiful stories that transport us to a snowy nature …

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
***

ONE WINTER’S DAY

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

First follow the adventures of this little hedgehog who lost her house after a strong storm. Wearing only a scarf, globes and a hat, he went for help to his friend the badger … But on the way, it will make many meetings. This book has particularly appealed to us because the story, made of encounters, is a good appeal for generosity. The chalk pastel illustrations depict a snowy nature, which can be turn either hostile or friendly. A real beautiful book we bought in 2006 and that we still like very much.

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

One Winter’s Day, Christina M. Butler and Tina Macnaughton.

***

SNOW DAY

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Snow Day tells the story of a little rabbit who can not go to school because the snow that has fallen, prevents the school bus to circulate. The slow rhythm of this book reflects the snow fall that covers the city. Very simple, very poetic … Read it slowly, taking time to enjoy the beautiful illustrations …

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Snow Day, Komako Sakai, published by the Ecole des Loisirs.

***

SNOW

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

This book by Lecaye Olga, well-know for her beautiful animal stories, transports us here in the snowy forests. It tells the story of a white wolf, different from his croies because of its color. Lonely and rejected, yet the wolf will learn friendship in contact with another wolf. A wonderful poetic story in a beautiful snowy nature.
You can also read The Little Rabbit’s Christmas by the same author … A little gem !!

Snow, Olga Lecaye, éditions Ecole des Loisirs.

***

Well, I hope that you’ve enjoyed this short selection …
Have a good weekend!
Emilie.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

L’hiver sous la couette

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Alors que Paris ne connaît plus vraiment d’hiver et qu’il est difficile de voir un peu de neige poindre à sa fenêtre, nous aimons d’autant plus lire et relire à la maison les albums qui nous plongent dans un hiver ouaté, froid, où la nature semble endormie… comme pour se ressourcer en vivant au rythme lent qu’impose naturellement cette saison.

Voici une sélection de jolis albums, que nous apprécions tant pour leur histoire que pour leurs illustrations. Tous mettent en scène un monde animal en lien étroit avec la Nature. Ce ne sont pas forcément des livres récents, mais nos coups de coeur, les livres que l’on lit et relit depuis bientôt dix ans…

Alors, plongeons sous la couette avec nos tout petits et partons à la rencontre de ces jolies histoires qui nous transportent dans une nature enneigée…

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

***

LA SURPRISE DU HERISSON

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Suivons tout d’abord les aventures de ce petit hérisson qui a perdu sa maison suite à une forte bourrasque. Armé de son écharpe, de ses gants et de son bonnet, il part chercher de l’aide chez son ami le blaireau… Mais en chemin, il fera de nombreuses rencontres. Ce livre nous a particulièrement plu car l’histoire, faite de rencontres, est un bel appel à la générosité. Les illustrations au pastel craie dépeignent une nature enneigée, qui peut être tour à tour hostile ou accueillante. Un vrai beau livre acheté en 2006 et qui dure, dure…

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

La Surprise du hérisson, M. Christina Butler et Tina Macnaughton, éditions Milan Jeunesse.

***

JOUR DE NEIGE

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Jour de Neige raconte l’histoire d’un petit lapin qui ne peut pas aller à l’école parce que la neige, qui vient de tomber, empêche le bus scolaire de circuler. Ce livre, au rythme lent, semble évoluer au gré de la neige qui tombe et recouvre la ville,changeant ainsi le regard du petit lapin sur le quotidien. Très simple, très poétique… A lire en prenant le temps de savourer les jolies illustrations…

Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Jour de Neige, Komako Sakaï, éditions l’Ecole des Loisirs.

 

***

NEIGE

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

Ce livre d’Olga Lecaye, qui sait toujours raconter des histoires peuplées d’animaux, nous transporte ici dans les forêts de neige. Il raconte l’histoire d’un loup blanc, qui, par sa couleur, diffère de ses comparses. Solitaire et rejeté, ce loup va pourtant apprendre l’amitié au contact d’un autre loup. Une histoire magnifique, au style poétique,  dans une nature enneigée. Superbe.

Vous pouvez également lire du même auteur Le Petit Lapin de Noël... Un petit bijou!!

Neige, Olga Lecaye, éditions Ecole des Loisirs.

***

Voilà, j’espère que cette courte sélection vous aura plu…

Belle fin de semaine à tous!

Emilie.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *