Lisi and Alex, Barcelona

On this very freezy Monday, let’s go to sunny Barcelona to meet Lisi, Alex and their two kids. Lisi combines her work as an art director at her ad agency, and her work as a photographer. Alex is an entrepreneur. They’ve got two sons : Simón who is 7 years old and is an acrobatic athlète, and León who is 4 and loves dancing.

They’ve been living in Barcelona for 15 years, now in the first floor of a modernist house in the centre of the city.

***

Crédit photo : Javier Almar
Crédit photo : Javier Almar

IN THE CITY

What do you like in your city?

I like that it’s small and you can run into friends, but big enough to discover new things all the time. I love its informal and artistic vibe and all its wonderful restaurants. And of course, its geographical situation (near the sea, not far from the mountains)!

Is it easy to live here when you’re a family? 

Being a family in the city is never easy, especially if you have two very active and outdoor kids, but there is a wonderful road called La carretera de las Aigües where you can ride in bicycle and see the whole city under your feet. There is a wonderful park with a zoo called La Ciudadela. Also, the small streets in the Gothic Area are pedestrian, so no worry about cars running over your crazy wild kids. We also have the sea.

lisi2
Crédit photo : Javier Almar
barcelone11
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane

 

Parque de la Ciutadela
Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane/ Parque de la Ciudadela

In which museums do you go with your children ?

We love going to the Museo de la Ciencia, a place that I also used to go when I was a kid. It’s a place for curious scientific minds full of creative stuff to interact with. It also has a replica of a tropical jungle full of animals and vegetation !

Which places are family friendly in your city? 

I like having « merienda » which is a snack after school in the old part of town so they get the old vibe and history of the city. There’s a plenty of parks and also wide streets and squares with terraces : the kids can play around us while you try to have some “adult time”, enjoying a drink or some tapas.

img_3585

In which restaurants or coffee shops do you usually go with the kids?

We all love japanese and chinese food, so we often go to have yummy sushi or Pekin duck in family friendly restaurants where they know us all by name.

We go to Koku Kitchen cause they serve great ramen. It’s in the old part of town and I just love the walk within the super narrow ancient shady streets to get to this small authentic restaurant.

I also like to take the kids to Memorias de China, an old-fashioned excellent quality chinese restaurant (runned by Chinese people) where they have fishes, lobsters and crabs in a big tank as you go in. Kids love it! We like to share a Pekin duck between the 4 of us in a big round table.

We also like to go to Can Pizza, out of Barcelona, near the airport. It’s not in the city, but it’s worth the trip cause they serve the best pizzas made with the best crust. The kids can run around the terrace that has an old vintage Vespa and a huge olive tree. And after that, we go to the beach to see the airplanes land right above us!

 

***

AT HOME

 

112

gabriela121
Crédit photo : Javier Almar
lisi_alex_4
Crédit photo : Javier Almar

What is your favourite  and easiest meal with children ?

We love to make tortilla de patatas, which is an omelette with fried potatoes and sliced onions. It seems easy, but it has its tricks 😉 (see recipe at the bottom of the page)

Crédit photo : Javier Almar
Crédit photo : Javier Almar

When the weather si bad, what do your children enjoy doing at home ?  

We like to do some fun yoga for kids or dance on top of the coffee table. I do yoga with kids cause we get a sense of togerherness and enthusiasm for the same thing! Kids love yoga, especially if we name the poses in animal forms. We also have some yoga cards that show different poses and we play with them picking one out randomly. We all have to do the asana and get a point!

7_lisi

 

What books do your kids love ?

We read many books at home and we have a wide library of american ones mainly (I’m half American, half Spanish). Many of them are reditions of the ones I read when I was a little girl like The Golden Book collection, Richard Scary ones or all the surreal Dr. Seuss ones.

***

Many thanks to Lisi for these great tips from Barcelona! This city is full of great energy and looks very family compliant, isn’t it?

If you want to know more about her, you can follow her on Instagram @inthemoodforfoodblog or directly on her eponymous  blog.

Let’s meet again on Thursday for a post about warm and ecological duvets! Pefect for wintertime 😉

Have a very good week,

Emilie xx.

 

*Tortilla de patatas (Omelette with potatoes) recipe by Lisi : 

You must slice 4 potatoes (all the same size so they cook evenly) and 2 big onions and fry them in the saucepan with olive oil. Once thay are golden, add some salt. Beat 4 eggs generously and add them to the saucepan. Cook at low heat until one side is done and then turn around to cook the other part (with the help of a larg plate to be able to turn it around with no accidents). You can serve warm or cold and put it on top of bread with tomato spread on top with salt and oil.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Lisi & Alex, Barcelone

Par ce froid glacial, on part se réchauffer à Barcelone à la rencontre de Lisi  et d’Alex. Lisi travaille à la fois comme directrice artistique pour son agence de publicité et comme photographe. Alex est entrepreneur. Ensemble, ils ont deux enfants : Simon, 7 ans, et Léon, 4.  

Cela fait 15 ans qu’ils vivent à Barcelone, au premier étage d’une maison moderniste du centre-ville. 

Crédit photo : Javier Almar
Crédit photo : Javier Almar

***

IN THE CITY

Qu’est-ce que vous aimez particulièrement à Barcelone? 

C’est une grande ville, mais à taille humaine : on peut facilement croiser des amis, mais en même temps on découvre sans cesse de nouvelles choses! J’aime beaucoup son côté très informel et arty,… et bien sûr ses délicieux restaurants! Enfin, sa situation géographique est parfaite!

Est-ce qu’il est facile d’y vivre quand on est une famille? 

La vie en ville n’est jamais très facile quand on est une famille, surtout quand on a deux kids bien actifs! Mais, on peut tout de même faire des activités à l »extérieur : on aime bien par exemple La carretera de las Aigües où on peut faire du vélo et voir toute la ville à nos pieds. On aime aussi beaucoup le zoo du magnifique parc de La Ciudadela. Les ruelles piétonnes du Quartier Gothique sont aussi un bon plan car vous n’avez pas à courir sans arrêt après vos enfants pour faire attention aux voitures 😉 !

lisi2
Crédit photo : Javier Almar
barcelone11
Plage de la Barceloneta / Crédit photo : Sweet Cabane
Parque de la Ciutadela
Parque de la Ciudadella

Quels sont vos musées favoris avec les enfants?

On adore le Musées des Sciences, où  j’allais déjà quand j’étais petite. Quand on est curieux, il y a plein d’expériences à faire, souvent très créatives! Il y a aussi une réplique d’une jungle tropicale, avec plein d’animaux et une végétation luxuriante!

Quels sont les endroits les plus family friendly à Barcelone? 

Au quotidien, on aime prendre notre « merienda »  (goûter après l’école) dans la vieille ville. Et le week-end, il y a plein de squares, de placettes où les enfants peuvent jouer pendant que vous prenez un verre ou des tapas. C’est facile et cool!

img_3585

Quels sont vos restaurants ou cafés favoris avec les enfants?

On adore la nourriture japonaise et chinoise! On va souvent déguster ensemble quelques sushis ou un canard laqué, toujours dans les même restaus! On va chez Koku Kitchen où ils servent un excellent ramen. C’est dans la partie ancienne de la ville et j’adore passer par les ruelles étroite pour nous rendre à ce restaurant minuscule et tellement authentique!

On va aussi souvent tous ensemble à Memorias de China, un très bon restaurant chinois, un brin désuet, et tenu par de vrais Chinois. Les enfants adorent car ils ont des poissons, des crabes et même des homards dans un grand aquarium. On aime particulièrement leur canard laqué à partager tous les quatre.

Enfin, notre pizzeria préférée, c’est Can Pizza, en dehors de Barcelone, pas loin de l’aéroport. Ce n’est pas central, mais leur pizza est tellement bonne! Ils font la meilleure pâte que je connaisse. En plus ils ont une grande terrasse, très mignonne, avec une vieille Vespa et un bel olivier centenaire. On termine généralement l’excursion par un petit tour sur la plage d’où on regarde les avions décoller…

***

AT HOME

112

gabriela121
Crédit photo : Javier Almar
lisi_alex_4
Crédit photo : Javier Almar

Quelle est ta recette favorite avec les kids?

On adore faire la tortilla de patatas, une omelette avec des pommes de terre sautées et des oignons émincés. Ca a l’air simple, mais il y a quelques trucs à savoir 😉 … (voir recette en bas de page)

Crédit photo : Javier Almar
Crédit photo : Javier Almar

Quand il fait mauvais, comment occupez-vous les enfants à la maison?  

On fait du yoga tous ensemble, … ou on danse sur la table du salon 😉

J’aime le yoga en famille : les enfants s’amusent beaucoup avec les poses d’animaux! On a aussi des cartes qui montrent les poses et on s’amuse à en tirer au hasard! Un point pour celui qui fait la plus belle pose… 😉

6_lisi

Quels livres lisez-vous avec vos enfants ?

On lit beaucoup à la maison, mais surtout des livres américains (je suis moitié Espagnole, moitié New-yorkaise). La plupart sont des rééditions des livres de mon enfance comme The Golden Book collection, les livres de Richard Scary ou ceux de Dr. Seuss.

***

Mille mercis à Lisi pour toutes ces bonnes adresses! Barcelone est une ville vivante, pleine d’énergie et où il fait bon vivre en famille… Personnellement, je l’adore! 

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur Lisi, vous pouvez la suivre sur son Instagram dédié à la restauration @inthemoodforfoodblog, ou directement sur son blog du même nom. Plein de belles découvertes et de chouettes adresses from Spain!

A jeudi pour un post sur une super marque de couettes bien chaudes et écologiques! Juste ce dont on a besoin par ce frileux mois de décembre… 

Belle semaine à tous,

Emilie xx.

*Recette de la tortilla par Lisi : 

Coupez en fines tranches 4 pommes de terre and deux grosoign ons. Faites-les sauter dans une poêle avec de l’huile d’olive. Quand elles sont bien dorées, salez et poivrez. Battez 4 oeufs et versez la préparation dans la poêle. Faites cuire à température douce une dizaine de minutes, puis retournez l’omelette grâce une large assiette. Faites encore cuire dix minutes.  A servir froide ou tiède, sur une tranche de pain, assaisonné de tomate, de sel et d’huile. 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *