Children at play

We spent our last Spring break in a lovely cottage in the middle of Sologne countryside (near Orleans, in France), as those who follow me on Instagram have probably already known. Our house was located in the heart of nature : wide-open spaces, rivers, ponds and beautiful woods of oaks, birches and firs. My little Parisians could enjoy the freedom that living outside offers, far from the well-organised activities of the city. On the program : football game, play in the recently acquired tent, drawing on a bench,…

Spring afternoon snack

During our last family Spring break in lovely Sologne, warm weather disposed us to long snacks in the garden … The opportunity to test and to make many recipes, among which lilac cordial. This very sweet cordial is delicious with still or fizzy water and goes very well with cakes for an afternoon snack. Its preparation is very playful and can also be a great activity to do with the kids! At home, we tasted it with homemade ‘cannelés’ whose recipe I also share here. *** LILAC CORDIAL Ingredients 20 lilas heads…

Yuko & Hitoshi, Japan

This week, let’s meet Yuko, her husband Hitoshi and their three kids, 1 girl, 10, and two boys, 7 and 2 years-old. Yuko, 38, works in the éducation fiels, and Hitoshi, 40, works for the state. They’ve been living in a seaside town in Kanagawa, since almost 11 years. Yuko is telling us about their family life in their beautiful city : what activities they enjoy doing in the city and at home.    *** IN THE CITY  What do you…

Sunbed mood…

Here are some pictures of the last shoot I did for Petit Bec Spring collection, which has just been launched on its online shop. With Olivia, the brand’s designer, we imagined a playful scenography around gardening and idleness … A beautiful day spent with two charming little models and nice memories that I would like to share with you here. A big thank to Audrey who allowed us to take her daughter Adèle as a model and helped us a lot in the…

Mad about fermentation

Fermentation is the oldest known food preservation technique, it has existed for nearly 5000 years, (the Ancient Egyptians already used it). Set aside in recent years, it is rediscovered today as it’s full of  nutritionnel benefits. There are different types of food fermentation: Alcoholic fermentation : it transforms the food sugar into ethyl alcohol thanks to the action of yeasts. It also produces glycerol and succinic acid, which are involved in lipid metabolism. This fermentation is commonly used with cereals and fruits to make…

A whole day doing nothing

Who never got tired of seeing her son playing on games console … or her teenage daughter talking on Snapchat or on Instagram, lying on her bed? All these everyday connected objects certainly have many benefits, but they can deeply hurt children’s creativity. At home, I’ve observed that as soon as we deprive the kids of using the laptop or the games’ console (for various reasons that I will not explain here 😉 ….), after a detox’ phase, they feel again like reading, drawing…

British Spring mood

For a few months, I’ve had a big crush for a new English children brand making handmade clothes in London : Nellie Quats. This brand, created in 2015 by Elinor Bussell, attaches importance to quality and know-how through very well cut classic clothes, made from beautiful fabrics. Nellie Quats (Elinor’s nickname when she was a little girl) dresses little girls from 18 months to 8 years old. The shapes are ample, both elegant and very practical to play! …And the prices are rather affordable, which…

Caroline de Benoist, jewel designer

This week, we are happy to meet Caroline de Benoist, mother of 3 children and former jurist, who has just launched her eponymous jewelry brand. I have known Caroline for a few years and I’m totally in love with her delicate, refined and colorful creations …. just like her. This change of activity, her creative impulse and the beauty of her jewels made me want to know more about this project and share with you this beautiful portrait of a ‘working…

Spring-inspired wardrobe

Of course Winter is not over yet, none the less we’re all dreaming of Spring, with light, colourful but still warm clothes for our kids! This Spring selection would help us to wait patiently for warmer days, while introducing Spring in our kids’ wardrobe. All the items I’ve selectionned here are comfortable, warm and mainly for both girls and boys. I’ve given priority to small brands with rather affordable prices.   *** 1.Helio striped sweater, Le Petit Germain : so cute for both boys…

Poetic fancy

To brighten up the end of Winter and beg for Spring, nothing better than pretty accessories and jewelry! I love above all delicate jewelery that underlines the curve of the neck or the finesse of the wrist… It’s why I love Titlee, a French jewelry brand for both adults and girls. The new collection seems to reconcile the opposites: if some models evoke Nature and animals, others, on the contrary, portray Paris and its monuments … Far from being paradoxical, it is what attracted me…

Huilettes magiques

J’aimerais partager avec vous cette semaine une très belle découverte beauté : Les Huilettes, toute jeune marque fondée par deux adeptes de l’aromathérapie : Pascale, pharmacienne et aromathérapeute, et Claire, ex-marketeuse. Cette marque entièrement bio et vegan utilise l’aromathérapie pour proposer des soins du visage et du corps complets et efficaces : mon Huilette Day, pour énergies et protéger le visage, mon Huilette Night pour redonner de l’élasticité à la peau et lâcher prise, et mon Huilette Body pour nourrir, protéger et tonifier la peau. La combinaison…

Jeux d’enfants

Nous avons passé les dernières vacances de printemps dans une jolie ferme au beau milieu de la campagne solognote, comme ceux qui me suivent sur Instagram l’ont sans doute noté. Ce furent des vacances au coeur d’une nature faite de grandes étendues, de rivières, d’étangs et de belles forets de chênes, bouleaux et sapins. Mes petits Parisiens ont  pu jouir de la liberté qu’offrent les grands espaces, bien loin des activités structurées de la ville. Au programme : foot, jeux dans la…

Goûter de Printemps

Pendant les vacances de printemps que nous avons passées dans la douce Sologne, le beau temps se prêtait aux longs goûters dans le jardin… L’occasion d’expérimenter  plusieurs recettes, dont celle du sirop de lilas, bien de saison. Ce sirop très doux est délicieux avec de l’eau plate ou gazeuse et accompagne très bien cakes et autres délices du goûter. Sa préparation est très ludique et peut aussi constituer une chouette activité avec les kids! A la maison, nous l’avons dégusté…

Yuko &Hitoshi, Japon

Aujourd’hui, Sweet Cabane voyage jusqu’au Japon, pays qui me fascine, à la rencontre de Yuko, Hoshida et de leurs trois enfants : une fille de 10 ans, et deux garçons de 7 et 2 ans. Yuko, 38 ans, travaille dans l’enseignement, et Hitoshi, 40 ans, est fonctionnaire. Ils habitent dans une petite ville côtière près de Kanagawa depuis presque 11 ans. Yuko nous parle de leur vie de famille et de leurs endroits préférés en ville . *** IN THE CITY Qu’aimes-tu…

Ambiance Transat

Pour se mettre bien dans l’ambiance des vacances de Printemps, voici quelques photos du dernier shooting que j’ai réalisé pour la collection printanière de Petit Bec, qui vient tout juste de sortir en ligne. Avec Olivia, sa créatrice, nous avons imaginé une scénographie ludique autour du jardinage et du farniente… Une bien belle journée avec deux charmants petits modèles et de chouettes souvenirs que j’aimerais partager ici avec vous! Un grand merci également à Audrey qui nous a permis de prendre Adèle…

Passion fermentation

La fermentation est la plus ancienne technique de conservation des aliments connue, elle existe depuis près de 5000 ans (les Egyptiens l’utilisaient déjà). Mise de côté ces dernières années, on la redécouvre aujourd’hui car elle possède, en plus de ses vertus de conservation, d‘incroyables bénéfices nutritionnels. Il existe différents types de fermentation des aliments : La fermentation alcoolique : elle transforme les sucres d’un aliment en alcool éthylique grâce à l’action de levures. C’est la fermentation couramment utilisée pour les céréales…

Un grand jour de rien

Qui n’en a jamais eu marre de voir son fils jouer à la console… ou sa fille ado snapper et instagrammer, allongée sur son lit? Tous ces charmants objets connectés ont certes beaucoup d’atouts, mais nuisent cruellement à la créativité des enfants. A la maison, j’ai observé que dès que les enfants sont « privés » de portable ou de console (pour des raisons variées que je n’étalerai pas ici 😉 ….), après une phase de « désintox », ils retrouvent goût à la lecture, au dessin……

Printemps anglais

J’ai eu un coup de coeur, il y a quelques mois, pour une toute nouvelle marque enfant qui fabrique ses vêtements à Londres de façon quasi artisanale : Nellie Quats. Cette jeune marque, créée en 2015 par Elinor Bussell, met l’accent sur la qualité et le savoir-faire au travers de modèles classiques, très bien coupés et dans de beaux tissus. Nellie Quats (le surnom d’Elinor quand elle était petite) habille les petites filles de 18 mois à 8 ans. Les formes sont amples,…

Caroline de Benoist, créatrice de bijoux

Cette semaine, nous avons la chance de rencontrer Caroline de Benoist, maman de 3 enfants et ancienne juriste, qui vient tout juste de lancer sa marque de joaillerie éponyme. Je connais Caroline depuis déjà quelques années et je suis tombée sous le charme de ses créations délicates, raffinées et colorées…. à son image. Ce changement d’activité, cet élan créatif et la beauté de ses réalisations m’ont donné envie d’en savoir plus et de partager avec vous ce beau portrait de ‘mumpreneuse’. Caroline nous parle ici…

Vestiaire d’humeur printanière

Certes l’hiver est encore bien là, mais on ne peut s’empêcher d’avoir envie de vêtements plus colorés et plus légers pour nos kids… Pour autant, les températures fraîches obligent à privilégier des pièces encore douillettes. Voici donc une sélection de vêtements pour nous faire doucement patienter et passer de l’hiver au printemps. La plupart des pièces présentées ici sont casual et mixtes. Il s’agit plutôt de petites marques qui allient style et qualité pour des prix raisonnables. *** 1.Marinière Helio, Le Petit Germain, en jersey de coton…