Sanne & Wim, Amsterdam

This Monday, we’re very happy to meet a large family from Amsterdam downtown. Sanne, 36, and Wim, her husband, have four children : two boys, Ole (almost 8 years), Hannes (almost 6 years)… and two girls, Pippa (3 years) and Kaatje (6 months).

Sanne is now a stay-at-home mum since she has just had her fourth child. Originally she was an Historian, and she’s been working as a freelance copywriter. Wim is an art-director and has his own advertising agency.

They’ve been living in Amsterdam for about 15 years. They now live in a beautiful historic building from the 17th century, which they restored and built apartments in.

Sanne tells us all about their daily family life in Amsterdam, at home and in the city.

***

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

IN THE CITY

What do you like in your city?

What I really love about Amsterdam is the combination of its rich history, which you can really feel everywhere around you, while at the same time it’s a breeding ground for creativity. So much is happening in advertising, fashion, design and culture.

Is it easy to live here when you ‘re a family? 

I believe Amsterdam has a lot of nice things to offer for children. Every neighbourhood has its own playground, there are a lot of museums and theatres for children, and a lot of the restaurants and cafes are child friendly too.

In general, I think Amsterdam is an easy city to live in as a family. The city is not too big and easy to get around in. We recently even sold our car! Living in the centre of the city really only requires a very good ‘bakfiets’ (delivery tricycle), which we do have. We use the bakfiets every day, to bring the kids to school, to do shopping, even to go out to a restaurant.

The only thing that isn’t easy for the children if you live in the middle of the city centre, is playing outside without parents. It’s just far to busy on the streets. But on the other hand, after all these years we are used to it and we always find ways to play outside.

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

What do you like doing with your kids in the city ?

Artis, the zoo, is always a nice place to go to. It’s very close to where we live, so, after school, we often just drop in to walk around for a bit and enjoy the diversity of plants and animals. A new museum, attached to the zoo is Micropia. This is rather spectacular, since it’s the first museum in the world that displays the world of microorganisms.

The Hortus Botanicus is a place we all love to go to. It’s one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. A very beautiful and intimate place with gorgeous plants and a lovely terrace.

If the weather isn’t great, the children love to go to Tun Fun, an indoor playground practically around the corner from our house. Lately, we haven’t been there that often because I don’t like to take baby Kaatje there, but that time will come back again.

But to be honest, we are taking things a bit slower these days, since we have our little girl with us all the time. And that is also fine. What we do most these days is stick around after school for a while, the children attend a really wonderful Montessori school with a great playground next to it. There are lots of trees, so the boys are often busy building their huts or climbing. When we walk home from school together, we enjoy the architecture, the shops we pass and have an occasional ice cream from a very good pastry shop called Van Soest. So long walks through the city are our number one activity at the moment, and that suits us all really well.

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

In which museums do you go with your children? What do you like there?

A very interesting museum is Nemo, where younger and older children can discover a world of science and technology. They are able to do experiments in the laboratory and discover all kinds of things. My children all really love to go there. On Nemo’s roof there is the largest roof terrace of Amsterdam, where you can overlook the city. Very cool!

Another museum I would like to mention is the Tropenmuseum, since they have so much fun stuff to do, even for younger children. It’s the biggest anthropological museum in the Netherlands. For adults it’s interesting as well, they always have different exhibitions going on.

And I shouldn’t forget to mention the Scheepvaartmuseum, where you can explore the Dutch maritime history. There are special exhibitions for families and children. My children love to go on board of the East Indiaman Amsterdam, an exact replica of the original ship.

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Which places are family friendly in your city? 

A very child friendly place is the Amsterdam public library. I mean the one next to Amsterdam Central Station, that one is the biggest. It’s such a spacious place and so much is happening there that is interesting for children and their parents. We visit the place every few weeks, to get new books, but also to do crafts, listen to music and listen to writers read out to the children. And there is a theatre as well!

Another place Wim takes the biggest three every now and then, is cinema Tuschinski. There are a lot of pleasant cinemas in Amsterdam, but this one happens to be around the corner from our house and is by far the most beautiful one. It was built with characteristics of the Amsterdam School, Art Deco and Jugendstil. To us this place is special because we also got married here!

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

In which restaurants or coffee shops do you go with the kids?

In general, I feel that the many restaurants and cafés in Amsterdam are very welcoming to families and children.

A very nice bar/ restaurant is Nel which is located on, what I believe is one of the most beautiful squares of Amsterdam, the Amstelveld. This is a place very near to our house, where a lot of children from our neighbourhood and school are playing, and where their parents can enjoy a cup of coffee or glass of wine in the meantime. They serve a special children’s menu as well, if you want to stay on a nice summer evening.

But Amsterdam has a few more lovely places to go to with the children. Across from the school there is a charming cafe called Frederix. When we play at the school playground, we often get some juice or a cup of coffee there or one of their delicious homemade cakes.

De Plantage is such a lovely surprise next to the zoo. A stunning place, which is both beautiful and very child friendly. They have a very large terrace with a big fountain, in which they allow children to play during sunny days.

What are your kids usual activities in Amsterdam?

With Pippa, I go to ballet classes at de Toverfluit on Saturdays in the most fantastic historical building. We both love doing this together.

The boys love to go swimming in one of the many swimming pools in Amsterdam. They go to the Zuiderbad or the Mirandabad. In the summer, we often go to a little outside pool for smaller children, in the Vondelpark. Ole and Hannes also still love this one, so it’s a nice thing to do as a family.

That’s another great thing about living here : all those fantastic parks. Our favourites are the Vondelpark and the Oosterpark. Both have so much to offer : great playgrounds, little swimming pools, a lot of space to cycle, roller-skate or just to laze about in the grass.

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

What are your favourite shops for children?

We love going to children’s conceptstores such as Archive Store, Big&Belg and de Keine Parade. 

My favourite children’s brand is Gray label : I love its minimalist design and its organic materials!

AT HOME

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

What is your favourite and easiest meal with children?

Strange as it may sound, we often serve homemade fries! It’s easy, delicious and fast. The secret is double-frying the potatoes. Here’s what you do in a nutshell: cut the potatoes, soak them, dry them, fry them (140 degrees, 4 minutes) and drain them, and then fry again (180 degrees, 6 minutes).

Next to that, our children love some vegetables, and salmon is a favourite of all three.

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

When the weather is bad, what do your children do at home? 

The boys are close in age, and they are very close together. They can play for hours in their shared room. Pippa sometimes plays along, but also loves to do some crafts with me.

A thing we all love is playing games. Chess, card games, memory, monopoly, we all love it!

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

What books do your kids love?

We love all the Chris Haughton’s books. a bit lost is such a beautifully illustrated book, and so is Shhh We have a plan

Another beautiful book we love is The Lion and the Bird, written by Marianne Dubuc. It’s about a special friendship between a lion and a bird. Very heart warming.

We are all really in love with the Dutch writer Joke van Leeuwen. Everything she writes is funny, clever and just brilliant.

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

***

Many thanks to Sanne for this interview with loads of tips, places to visit, restaurants to stay! … Nearly a whole family city guide for Amsterdam!!

I just want to add that I’m totally in love with Sanne’s charming family photos! You can follow her on Instagram @sannehop.

Have a wonderful week,

Emilie xx.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sanne et Wim, Amsterdam

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop
Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Ce lundi, Sanne et Wim nous ouvrent les portes de leur maison d’Amsterdam où ils vivent avec leurs quatre enfants : deux garçons, Ole (8 ans) et Hannes (presque 6 ans)… et deux filles, Pippa (3 ans) et Kaatje (6 mois). 

Sanne ne travaille pas en ce moment car la famille vient tout juste de s’agrandir avec la naissance de Kaatje. Avant, elle était historienne et rédactrice publicitaire freelance. Wim est directeur artistique, à la tête de sa propre agence. 

Ils vivent à Amsterdam depuis 15 ans et habitent aujourd’hui un immeuble du 17 e siècle qu’ils ont eux-même rénové. 

Sanne nous parle de leur vie à Amsterdam : leurs activités et sorties en ville, mais aussi leur quotidien à la maison.

***

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

IN THE CITY

Qu’aimes-tu à Amsterdam?

Ce que je préfère c’est ce mix entre un passé riche, que tu peux ressentir quand tu te promènes, et la vie créative intense : il se passe tellement de choses dans plein de domaines comme la pub, la mode, le design ou encore la culture!

Est-ce qu’il est facile d’y vivre quand on est une famille

Je crois qu’Amsterdam a beaucoup à offrir aux familles. Chaque quartier possède son square, il y a aussi plein de musées et de théâtres pour les enfants. La plupart des cafés et des restaurants sont très family friendly.

On y vit très agréablement : c’est une ville à taille humaine, où il est facile de se déplacer. Nous, on a d’ailleurs récemment vendu notre voiture! On se déplace tout le temps en bakfiet (triporteur) pour emmener les enfants à l’école, faire les courses, sortir et même aller au restaurant.

La seule chose plus difficile est de laisser jouer les enfants seuls dehors : il y a pas mal de circulation et de monde… Mais, bon, on se débrouille et on trouve toujours des coins sympa!

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Qu’est ce que vous aimez faire avec les enfants en ville ?

On adore aller au zoo, Artis. C’est tout près de chez nous et, après l’école, on va souvent y faire un saut pour admirer les plantes et les animaux. On aime aussi  beaucoup Micropia, juste à côté du zoo : c’est le premier musée au monde qui parle du monde des micro-organismes. 

Autre endroit qu’on apprécie : le Hortus Botanicus, l’un des vieux plus jardins botaniques au monde! C’est à la fois beau et très préservé avec des plantes magnifiques et une très jolie terrasse. 

Quand il ne fait pas beau, les enfants adorent aller au Tun Fun, un parc de jeux en intérieur, juste au coin de la rue. On y va moins en ce moment car ce n’est pas très facile d’y emmener notre bébé, Kaatje.

Pour être honnête, en ce moment, on sort un peu moins, depuis la venue du bébé. On reste surtout dans notre quartier, près de l’école. Les enfants sont dans un établissement Montessori avec une aire de jeux super sympa juste à côté. Il y a beaucoup d’arbres, les garçons adorent y faire des cabanes et grimper. Quand on rentre tous ensemble de l’école, on admire l’architecture et on s’achète parfois une bonne glace chez Van Soest, une super pâtisserie. On fait surtout de grandes balades en ce moment.

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Quels sont vos musées favoris en famille?

On aime bien Nemo, un musée où les enfants de tous âges peuvent découvrir les sciences et les technologies. Sur le toit, il y’a la plus grande terrasse à ciel ouvert d’Amsterdam de maquille on a une vue incroyable sur la ville! Très cool!

Un autre musée qu’on aime bien, c’est Tropenmuseum car il y a beaucoup de choses à y faire, même pour les plus jeunes. C’est le plus grand musée anthropologique des Pays-Bas. C’est aussi intéressant pour les adultes et il y a toujours plein d’expos différentes.

Ah, et j’oubliais, il y a aussi le Scheepvaartmuseum,qui parle de l’histoire maritime des Pays-Bas. Il y a toujours des expos spécialement conçues pour les familles. Mes enfants aiment monter à bord du East Indiaman Amsterdam, l’exacte réplique du navire original.

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Quels autres endroits sont family friendly à Amsterdam? 

On adore la Bibliothèque d’Amsterdam, tout près de la Gare Centrale d’Amsterdam. C’est un endroit spacieux, où il y a toujours des animations pour les familles. On y va très souvent pour emprunter des livres, mais aussi pour participer à des ateliers DIY, écouter de la musique ou écouter des auteurs qui lisent des passages de leurs livres aux enfants. Il y a même un théâtre!

Wim emmène aussi les trois aînés au cinema Tuschinski, tout près de chez nous : sans doute le plus beau ciné de toute la ville!  Il a été construit selon le modèle Art Déco de l’Ecole d’Amsterdam. C’est aussi un endroit particulier pour nous car c’est là que nous nous sommes mariés 😉 !

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Quels sont vos restos et cafés préférés pour une sortie en famille?

En général, je trouve que la plupart des cafés et restaurants sont très accueillants à Amsterdam.

Notre café-restaurant favori est Nel qui est situé sur la plus belle place d’Amsterdam, l’Amstelveld. C’est tout près de chez nous et il y a beaucoup d’enfants du quartier qui jouent dans le square pendant que les parents boivent un café ou un verre. Ils ont un menu enfants très bien.

Mais il y a aussi plein d’autres endroits pour faire un pause en famille dans Amsterdam.On aime bien aussi le café Frederix, parfait pour un jus de fruits ou un café à la sortie de l’école! Ils font aussi de délicieux cakes maison.

De Plantage est aussi très chouette, juste à côté du zoo. C’est très beau et très bien conçu pour les enfants : il y a une grande terrasse avec une fontaine où les enfants sont autorisés à jouer quand il fait beau.

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Quelles activités font vos enfants en dehors de l’école?

Avec Pippa, on va faire toutes les deux de la danse classique le samedi à de Toverfluit, un magnifique endroit. Les garçons font de la natation à la piscine Zuiderbad ou à Mirandabad. En été, on va souvent dans une piscine plus petite, mais dédiée aux enfants, Vondelpark, qu’Ole et Hannes adorent.

On adore aussi aller tout simplement dans les parcs. Nos préférés sont le Vondelpark et l’Oosterpark. Il y a tellement de choses à faire  : de grandes aires de jeux, des petites piscines, des endroits pour faire du vélo, du roller ou juste se reposer sur l’herbe.

Quels sont tes magasins pour enfants favoris?

On adore les conceptstores enfant comme Archive Store,  Big&Belg et de Keine Parade. 

Enfin, ma marque enfant préférée est sans doute Gray Label : j’adore leurs matières exclusivement bio et leur design minimaliste.

AT HOME

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Quel plat aimes-tu cuisiner aux enfants?

Ca peut paraître bizarre, mais je fais souvent des frites maison! C’est délicieux et rapide! Le secret c’est de frire deux fois les pommes de terre : coupez-les en bâtonnets, rincez-les, séchez-les puis faites-les frire une première fois  (140 degrés, 4 minutes).  Sortez-les et égouttez-les, lui faites les frire une deuxième fois (180 degrés, 6 minutes).

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

On accompagne souvent les frites de saumon et de légumes.

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Quelles sont les activités favorites des enfants à la maison?

Les garçons, qui sont proches en âge, sont très complices. Ils passent des heures à jouer ensemble dans leur chambre. Pippa les accompagne parfois ou fait des activités manuelles avec moi.

On aime beaucoup faire tous ensemble des jeux de société de toutes sortes : échecs, jeux de cartes memory, Monopoly… On aime tout!!

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Quels sont vos livres enfant favoris?

On aime beaucoup les livres de Chris Haughtons. Un peu perdu et Chut on a un plan! sont nos préférés.

On aime aussi le très beau livre de Marianne Dubuc, Le lion et l’Oiseau : ça parle de l’amitié entre un lion et un oiseau… Très touchant!!

Enfin, tous les livres de la Néerlandaise Joke van Leeuwen. Tout ce qu’elle écrit est drôle et intelligent!

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

Crédit photo : Sanne Hop

 

***

Mille mercis à Sanne pour cette interview pleine de bonnes idées et de bons plans. Presque un guide pour visiter Amsterdam en famille… 😉  

Je voudrais juste ajouter que j’adore le talent photographique de Sanne qui nous plonge avec poésie et délicatesse dans la douceur de sa vie de famille. Vous pouvez d’ailleurs la retrouver sur Instagram, @sannehop.

Belle semaine à tous,

Emilie.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *